GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMERCE & INDUSTRY DEPARTMENT OF INDUSTRIAL POLICY & PROMOTION

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4274. TO BE ANSWERED ON MONDAY, THE 12TH DECEMBER, 2016.

GLOBAL INNOVATION INDEX

4274. DR. GOKARAJU GANGA RAJU:

Will the Minister of **COMMERCE AND INDUSTRY** be pleased to state: वाणिज्य एवं उद्योग मंत्री

- (a) whether the Government has decided to set up a Task Force on Innovation in a bid to enhance the innovation ecosystem and improve the country's ranking in the Global Innovation Index (GII);
- (b) if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) the details of the measures taken/ proposed to be taken by the Government in this regard?

ANSWER

वाणिज्य एवं उद्योग राज्यमंत्री (स्वतंत्र प्रभार)(श्रीमती निर्मला सीतारमण) THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF COMMERCE & INDUSTRY (SHRIMATI NIRMALA SITHARAMAN)

- (a) & (b): Yes, Madam. The details of members and the terms of reference of the Task Force on Innovation is at Annexure-I.
- (c): A comparative analysis on Global Innovation Index (GII) 2016 and GII 2015 has been carried out to identify the indices in which India's rank has declined or not changed or where data is not available. The information has also been circulated to all the concerned departments to update data and take further steps to improve ranking.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) & (b) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4274 FOR ANSWER ON 12.12.2016.

The composition of the Task Force on Innovation is as follows:

- 1. Mr. Naushad Forbes, Co-Chairman, Forbes Marshall Group; President, CII
- 2. Dr. Anil Wali, MD, Foundation for Innovation and Technology Transfer, IIT, Delhi
- 3. Mr. Gopichand Katragadda, Group Chief Technology Officer, TATA Sons
- 4. Mr. Kris Gopalkrishnan, former Vice Chairman, Infosys, Chairman, Axilor Ventures and Chairman, CII Council on Startups
- 5. Dr. Nikolai Dobberstein, Partner, A.T. Kearney Limited
- 6. Mr. Rajeev Srinivasan, Adjunct Faculty, Innovation, IIM, Bangalore and Chief Consultant, Maker Village, IIITM-K, Trivandrum
- 7. Sh. H.K. Mittal, Adviser and Head (NSTEDB), Representative of Secretary, Department of Science and Technology.
- 8. Mr. Rajiv Aggarwal, Joint Secretary DIPP Convenor

Terms of Reference of the Task Force are as follows:

- i. To assess India's position as an innovation country, and suggest measures to enhance the innovation eco-system in India and thus improve India's ranking in the GII.
- ii. To examine the challenges before India in GII 2016, and identify areas where India needs to take steps to overcome them.
- iii. To examine the ideas received from public on the best way forward in inculcating an innovation temperament in the country.
- iv. To assess the contribution of Indian Universities and/ or academic institutions to innovation in different fields of studies, and the measures to be taken for reinforcing the same.
- v. To identify further areas of study and furnish recommendations in this regard to the Ministry.
