### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL EDUCATION AND LITERACY

## LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.4213 TO BE ANSWERED ON 12<sup>TH</sup> DECEMBER, 2016

#### Non Official Members under Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan

#### 4213. SHRI RAM MOHAN NAIDU KINJARAPU:

Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

(a) whether there is a provision for having non-official Members under Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan and if so, the details thereof;

(b) the details of qualifications needed for the same as well as the period of appointment;

(c) whether the Government has appointed or plans to appoint such non-official Members; and

(d) if so, the details thereof?

#### ANSWER

# MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (SHRI UPENDRA KUSHWAHA)

(a): In order to facilitate universal elementary education, the Government of India decided to set up the National Mission for Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan (SSA) in the Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) through a Resolution dated 2<sup>nd</sup> January, 2001. The SSA National Mission is the nodal body for all matters relating to elementary education at the national level and is vested with full executive and financial powers in its sphere of work. The SSA National Mission has two apex bodies namely Governing Council (GC) under the Chairmanship of Prime Minister of India and Executive Committee (EC) under the Chairmanship of Minister, HRD.

The GC of SSA comprises, amongst others, six non-official Members from teachers & teacher unions; five persons from among educationists & scientist; six persons from NGOs working in the field of education; three persons from women's organizations and three persons working amongst Scheduled Castes (SCs) & Scheduled Tribes (STs) in the field of elementary education. Similarly, EC comprises of seven non-officials comprising of Teachers, NGOs representatives and educationists.

(b): The nominations on the National Mission for SSA are, accordingly, made by the Government of India as per the composition laid down under the Resolution. The Members of SSA National Mission hold office for a term of two years and are eligible for re-nominations.

(c) & (d): The last GC and EC of National Mission of SSA were constituted in October, 2013 for a period of two years. The constitution of the GC will be done after a clarification is obtained on whether it would be an 'Office of Profit' for the Members of Parliament, who are the members of the GC. Further, the GC has met only once since SSA was launched in 2001. The reconstitution of EC, however, is under process.

\* \* \* \* \*