GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3641 TO BE ANSWERED ON 07.12.2016

RAILWAY SCHOOLS

†3641. SHRI SUKHBIR SINGH JAUNAPURIA : SHRI DEVENDRA SINGH BHOLE :

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of schools of the Railways functioning at present in the country, zone-wise;
- (b) whether there is lack of such schools in the country including Uttar Pradesh;
- (c) if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) the steps being taken by the Government to construct more railway schools?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI RAJEN GOHAIN)

(a): Zone-wise list of Railway schools is as under: Central Railway (7), Eastern Railway (11), Northern Railway (2), North Eastern Railway (3), North East Frontier Railway (15), Southern Railway(9), South Central Railway (11), South Eastern Railway (19), Western Railway (8), East Central Railway (7), East Coast Railway (4), North Central Railway (5), North Western Railway (3), South East Central Railway (8), South Western Railway (2), West Central Railway (5), Chittaranjan Locomotive Works(13), Diesel Locomotive Works(1). (b) & (c): No, Madam. However, as provided in the Constitution of India, 'Education' figures in the concurrent list (Seventh Schedule) and hence it is the Subject of State Government/ Ministry of Human Resource Development of Government of India. Therefore, Ministry of Railways, as a policy, have decided not to open any new Railway School.

(d): Does not arise.
