GOVERNMENT OF INDIA

MINISTRY OF URBAN DEVELOPMENT

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 3580

TO BE ANSWERED ON DECEMBER, 07, 2016

INCLUSION OF AREAS UNDER NCR

No. 3580 SHRI ASHWINI KUMAR:

Will the Minister of URBAN DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of districts/ areas of Haryana, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh which have been included under the National Capital Region (NCR) so far;
- (b) whether some of the neighbouring States have requested the Government to include some more districts in the NCR; and
- (c) if so, the details thereof and the Government's reaction thereto?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF URBAN DEVELOPMENT

(RAO INDERJIT SINGH)

 (a): National Capital Region (NCR) includes 13 districts of Haryana, namely, Faridabad, Gurgaon, Palwal, Mewat, Rewari, Jhajjar, Rohtak, Sonepat, Panipat, Mahendragarh, Bhiwani, Jind and Karnal; 02 districts of Rajasthan, namely, Alwar and Bharatpur and 07 districts of Uttar Pradesh, namely, Meerut, Ghaziabad, Gautam Budha Nagar, Bulanshahr, Hapur, Baghpat and Muzzafarnagar.

Contd..2..

(b&c): National Capital Region Planning Board (NCRPB) has informed that they have received proposal from Government of Uttar Pradesh for the inclusion of district Shamli in NCR. As per the provision of Section 2(f) of the NCRPB Act, 1985, the Central Government with the consent of the Government of the concerned participating State and in consultation with the Board, may, by notification in the Official Gazette, add any area to NCR or exclude any area therefrom.
