GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MIINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3528 TO BE ANSWERED ON 07.12.2016

CONVERTING RAILWAY HALTS INTO STATIONS

3528. SHRI B. SRIRAMULU:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether there is any proposal to convert railway halts into stations;
- (b) if so, the zone-wise details thereof; and
- (c) the number of railway halts converted into stations during the last three years ?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

(SHRI RAJEN GOHAIN)

(a)& (b): Yes, Madam. The zone-wise details of the proposals regarding

conversion of railway halts into stations are as under:

Zonal Railway	Number	Details of proposals
Central	0	
Eastern	2	Pirthala halt and Punsia halt into regular stations.
East Central	10	Mohnimandal,Barawanmor, Barabaar, Kanhaipur, Barhara, Bitiharva, Charpokhri, Mokar, Bisa and Sanjhauli halts into regular stations.
East Coast	0	
Northern	12	Ramganj, Redika, Kalwan, Ailam, Khari jhalu, Reoti Bahora Khera, Neri, Ugu, Kasimpur, Achalganj, Sujra, Melethu Kanak halts into regular stations.
North Central	1	Rasulpur Gagamau halt into regular station.
North Eastern	5	Manjhi, Nigatpur, Dudhaunda, Kerakar and Yadvendra Nagar halts into regular stations.

Northeast Frontier	0	
North Western	7	Goriyan, Baopri Thikria, Kayamsar, Padla, Semari, Jaganbor and Nawan halts into regular stations.
Southern	4	Melapalayam, Magercoil Town, Tirunellikaval and Periyakottai halts into regular stations.
South Central	0	
South Eastern	0	
South East Central	2	Tumsar Town and Nagpur Road halts into regular stations.
South Western	0	
Western	0	
West Central	0	

(c): 38 railway halts have been converted into stations during the years 2014, 2015 and 2016 (till date).

* * * * * *