GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 2414

(TO BE ANSWERED ON 30.11.2016)

COMMUNITY RADIO SERVICE

2414. SHRI SUBHASH PATEL

Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

- (a) Whether the Government has planned to start any community radio service for the tribal communities across the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the names of the States in which the said radio service has been /is likely to be started; and
- (d) if not, the reason therefor?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING [COL RAJYAVARDHAN RATHORE (Retd.)]

(a) & (b) Permission to set up Community Radio Station (CRS) is granted under the Policy Guidelines for setting up of Community Radio Stations in India, issued in the year 2006. These guidelines are available at Ministry's website, www.mib.nic.in. Eligible organizations can apply for permission to set up CRS at any time in any part of the country including organizations working for tribal communities. Permission is granted, subject to fulfillment of eligibility criteria and receipt of clearances from Ministry of Home Affairs, Ministry of Defence, Wireless Planning and Coordination Wing of Ministry of Communication & IT, Ministry of Human Resource Development and Ministry of Agriculture and, as the case may be.

Ministry is organizing awareness workshops in districts where no CRS exist i.e. CR dark districts. Organisations working in CR dark districts are invited in these workshops to ensure that Community Radio stations are set up in such areas.

(c) & (d) At present 201 Community Radio Stations are operational across the country. State/UT-wise details are at **Annexure**.

ANNEXURE AS REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (A) OF THE LSUSQ NO. 2414 TO BE ANSWERED ON 30.11.2016

State/UT wise details of Operational Community Radio Stations in India

Sr. No.	STATE/ UT	OPERATIONAL CRS		
1	Andhra Pradesh	6		
2	Arunachal Pradesh	Nil		
3	Assam	3		
4	Bihar	6		
5	Chhattisgarh	3		
6	Goa	Nil		
7	Gujarat	7		
8	Haryana	9		
9	Himachal Pradesh	2		
10	Jammu and Kashmir	1		
11	Jharkhand	1		
12	Karnataka	16		
13	Kerala	9		
14	Madhya Pradesh	15		
15	Maharashtra	17		
16	Manipur	Nil		
17	Meghalaya	Nil		
18	Mizoram	Nil		
19	Nagaland	Nil		
20	Orissa	10		
21	Punjab	4		
22	Rajasthan	8		
23	Sikkim	Nil		
24	Tamil Nadu	30		
25	Telangana	7		
26	Tripura	Nil		
27	Uttarakhand	9		
28	Uttar Pradesh	23		
29	West Bengal	2		
Union Territories				
30	Andaman and Nicobar Islands	Nil		
31	Chandigarh	3		
32	NCT of Delhi	6		
33	Dadra and Nagar Haveli	Nil		
34	Daman and Diu	Nil		
35	Lakshadweep	Nil		
36	Puducherry	4		
GRAND TOTAL		201		