# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF INFORMATION & BROADCASTING

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 2334 (TO BE ANSWERED ON 30.11.2016)

## AIR AND DOORDARSHAN SIGNAL IN BORDER AREAS

#### 2334. SHRI SADASHIV LOKHANDE:

#### Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

(a) whether the broadcasting of Doordarshan and Akashvani does not have a clear reach in the rural and border areas;

(b) if so, the reasons therefor; and

(c) the steps taken to increase the number of transmitters particularly in the said areas in the current scheme, State-wise?

## ANSWER

## THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING

#### {COL RAJYAVARDHAN RATHORE (Retd.)}

(a) & (b) Prasar Bharati has informed that as far as All India Radio is concerned, the present total reach of AIR broadcast is about 92.00 % of the area and 99.20 % of the total population of the country. However, very small border areas in North-East and J&K are still uncovered by terrestrial broadcast of AIR, due to hilly/rocky terrain which badly affects the propagation of radio waves. Further, AIR is in process of replacing its old/outlived MW/SW and FM transmitters by new transmitters to strengthen its existing coverage. Installation of new FM transmitter setups at various places has also been planned as per approved schemes to expand its reach to larger parts of the country including rural and border areas.

In addition to above, 31 AIR's channels are available on Doordarshan's DTH platform (DD Free Dish) and can be received by set top box throughout the country including rural and border areas. Additionally, 13 channels of All India Radio are also available on internet platform on AIR's website <<u>allindiaradio.gov.in></u> or by downloading suitable apps on iOS/ Android/ Windows based mobile phones.

As regards Doordarshan, all areas of the country (including those located in rural and border areas), have been provided with multi-channel TV coverage through Doordarshan's free-to-air DTH service. DTH signals can be received anywhere in the country with the help of small sized dish receive units. In terrestrial mode, Doordarshan signals are estimated to be available to about 92% population, spread over 81% area of the country. In view of multichannel coverage having been provided to all the areas uncovered by terrestrial transmission through Doordarshan's free-to-air DTH service, new transmitters for expansion of terrestrial coverage are now not envisaged.

(c) For providing FM Service in Rural and border areas, 123 new FM transmitter (1 KW-25 nos +5 kw-12 nos+10 KW-28 nos.+20KW-02 nos. + 100 W-56 nos.) have been approved, as per state-wise details given in **Annexure.** 

\*\*\*\*\*

# ANNEXURE AS REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2334 FOR ANSWER ON 30.11.2016

#### <u>Annexure</u>

# List of 123 FM Transmitters approved to be set up under 12<sup>th</sup> Plan including Cont. Schemes of earlier Plans

SI.	PLACE	STATE	POWER OF NEW
No.			FM TRANSMITTER
1.	KAKINADA	ANDHRA PRADESH	10 KW
2.	ANINI / ROING	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	1 KW
3.	BARIRIZO	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	100 W
4.	BHALUKPONG	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	100 W
5.	BOLENG	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	100 W
6.	BOMDILA	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	1 KW
7.	CHANGLANG	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	1 KW
8.	CHAYANGTAJO	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	100 W
9.	DAPORIJO	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	1 KW
10.	GENSI	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	100 W
11.	HAYULIANG	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	100 W
12.	KHONSA	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	1 KW
13.	KOYU	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	100 W
14.	MARIANG	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	100 W
15.	MECHUKA	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	100 W
16.	NAMPONG	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	100 W
17.	PALIN	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	100 W
18.	RAGA	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	100 W
19.	RUMGONG	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	100 W
20.	SAGALEE	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	100 W
21.	SANGRAM	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	100 W
22.	TUTING	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	100 W
23.	YACHULI	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	100 W
24.	YINGKIONG	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	100 W
25.	BAKULIAGHAT	ASSAM	100 W
26.	BARPETA	ASSAM	100 W
27.	DUDNOI	ASSAM	100 W
28.	GOLPARA	ASSAM	1 KW
29.	KARIM GANJ	ASSAM	1 KW
30.	LANKA	ASSAM	100 W
31.	LUMDING	ASSAM	1 KW
32.	NAGAON	ASSAM	100 W
33.	SARIHAJAN	ASSAM	100 W
34.	SILCHAR	ASSAM	5 KW
35.	TEZPUR	ASSAM	100 W
36.	UDALGURI	ASSAM	100 W

SI.	PLACE	STATE	POWER OF NEW
No.			FM TRANSMITTER
37.	MUZZAFFARPUR	BIHAR	10 KW
38.	AMBIKAPUR	CHHATTISGARH	5 KW
39.	PANAJI	GOA	10 KW
40.	BHUJ	GUJARAT	5 KW
41.	KINNAUR (KALPA)	HIMACHAL PRADESH	1 KW
42.	GREEN RIDGE	JAMMU & KASHMIR	10 KW
43.	HIMBOTINGLA	JAMMU & KASHMIR	10 KW
44.	NAUSHERA	JAMMU & KASHMIR	10 KW
45.	PATNITOP	JAMMU & KASHMIR	10 KW
46.	DHANBAD	JHARKHAND	10 KW
47.	JAMSHEDPUR	JHARKHAND	10 KW
48.	ALAPPUZHA	KERALA	5 KW
49.	CHHATARPUR	MADHYA PRADESH	5 KW
50.	GWALIOR	MADHYA PRADESH	5 KW
51.	RATLAM	MADHYA PRADESH	10 KW
52.	REWA (AIR SITE)	MADHYA PRADESH	10 KW
53.	JALGAON	MAHARASHTRA	5 KW
54.	CHINGAI	MANIPUR	100 W
55.	IMPHAL	MANIPUR	100 W
56.	TAMEI	MANIPUR	100 W
57.	TAMENGLANG	MANIPUR	1 KW
58.	UKHRUL	MANIPUR	1 KW
59.	BAGHMARA	MEGHALAYA	100 W
60.	CHERAPUNJEE	MEGHALAYA	1 KW
61.	TURA	MEGHALAYA	100 W
62.	TURA	MEGHALAYA	5 KW
63.	AIZAWL	MIZORAM	100 W
64.	CHAMPHAI	MIZORAM	1 KW
65.	CHIAHPHURI	MIZORAM	100 W
66.	KHAWBUNG	MIZORAM	100 W
67.	KOLASIB	MIZORAM	1 KW
68.	PUKZING	MIZORAM	100 W
69.	TUIPANG	MIZORAM	1 KW
70.	VANLAIPHAI	MIZORAM	100 W
71.	ZAWNRGIN	MIZORAM	100 W
72.	HENIMA (TENNING)	NAGALAND	100 W
73.	MELURI	NAGALAND	100 W
74.	PHEK	NAGALAND	1 KW
75.	WOKHA	NAGALAND	1 KW
76.	ZUNHEBOTO	NAGALAND	1 KW
77.	JORANDA	ODISHA	1 KW
78.	SORO	ODISHA	1 KW
79.	AMRITSAR	PUNJAB	20 KW
80.		RAJASTHAN	5 KW
81.	BUNDI (TV SITE)	RAJASTHAN	10 KW

SI.	PLACE	STATE	POWER OF NEW
No.			FM TRANSMITTER
82.	CHAUNTAN HILL	RAJASTHAN	20 KW
83.	КОТА	RAJASTHAN	1 KW
84.	CHUNGTHANG	SIKKIM	100 W
85.	DENTAM	SIKKIM	100 W
86.	GYALSHING	SIKKIM	100 W
87.	LACHEN	SIKKIM	100 W
88.	LACHUNG, FOREST	SIKKIM	100 W
	GUEST HOUSE		
89.	MANGAN	SIKKIM	100 W
90.	NAMTHANG, POLICE	SIKKIM	100 W
	THANA		
91.	SORENG	SIKKIM	100 W
92.	YUKSUM	SIKKIM	100 W
93.	OTTACAMUND ( OOTY)	TAMILNADU	10 KW
94.	AMBASSA	TRIPURA	100 W
95.	CHOWMANU	TRIPURA	100 W
96.	DAMCHHARA	TRIPURA	100 W
97.	GANDACHHARA	TRIPURA	100 W
98.	JOLAIBARI	TRIPURA	100 W
99.	LONGTHERAI	TRIPURA	5 KW
100.	NUTAN BAZAR	TRIPURA	1 KW
101.	SAKHAN	TRIPURA	100 W
102.	UDAYPUR	TRIPURA	1 KW
103.	VANGMUN (BHANGMUN)	TRIPURA	100 W
104.	AGRA	UTTAR PRADESH	5 KW
105.	ETAWAH	UTTAR PRADESH	10 KW
106.	MATHURA	UTTAR PRADESH	10 KW
107.	MEERUT	UTTAR PRADESH	10 KW
108.	ALMORA	UTTARAKHAND	1 KW
109.	ALMORA	UTTARAKHAND	5 KW
110.	CHAMPAWAT	UTTARAKHAND	1 KW
111.	DEHRADUN	UTTARAKHAND	10 KW
112.	HALDWANI	UTTARAKHAND	10 KW
113.	HARIDWAR	UTTARAKHAND	100 W
114.	BARDHWAN	WEST BENGAL	10 KW
115.	COOCH BEHAR	WEST BENGAL	10 KW
116.	DARJEELING	WEST BENGAL	10 KW
117.	KRISHNANAGAR	WEST BENGAL	10 KW
118-	06 NOS. FM	ALONG INDO-NEPAL	10 KW
123	TRANSMITTER ALONG	BORDERING STATE	
	INDO-NEPAL BORDER	(I.E. UTTRAKHAND, UTTAR	
		PRADESH AND BIHAR)	