GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2308

TO BE ANSWERED ON: 30.11.2016

GUIDELINES FOR CALL CENTRES

2308. SHRIMATI DARSHANA VIKRAM JARDOSH:

Will the Minister of Electronics & Information Technology be pleased to state: -

- (a) the number of call centres functioning in the country, State-wise;
- (b) whether there are any guidelines or rules governing these call centres;
- (c) if so, the details thereof and if not, whether the Government proposes to formulate guidelines for these call centres; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER of STATE for ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI P. P. CHAUDHARY)

(a) to (d): As per Department of Telecommunications (DoT), Telecom Enforcement Resource and Monitoring (TERM) Cells register the Other Service Providers (OSPs) throughout the country in their respective jurisdiction which includes call centres also. Separate data of call centers is not maintained by TERM Cells. The OSP means a company providing Application Services such as call centre, tele-banking, tele-medicine tele-education, tele-trading, e-commerce, network operation centre and other IT Enabled Services, by using Telecom Resources provided by Authorised Telecom Service Providers. The revised Terms and Conditions for the registration of the OSP were issued vide No.18- 2/2008-CS-I Dated: 5th August, 2008. These terms and conditions and their amendments are available on DoT website at the link http://dot.gov.in/relatedlinks/registration-under-other-service-providers-osp-category.

In Telecom sector, country is divided into 22 License Service Areas (LSA) which generally are co-terminus with States, and each LSA has a TERM Cell. As on 31.10.2016, total 10,042 OSPs were registered with various LSA (details are at Annexure).

As per Department of Telecommunications (DoT), the salient features of guidelines for OSP (includes call centres) are as under:

- Registration may be granted to any company (Registered under Companies Act 1956/2013) or Limited Liability Partnership (LLP, registered under LLP Act, 2008) to provide Application Services. These service providers will not infringe on the jurisdiction of other Authorised Telecom Service Providers and they will not provide switched telephony.
- ii. The registration is location specific, so a company may have more than one registration. Any change in the location of OSP Centre shall require amendment in the original registration.
- iii. The validity of the registration shall be 20 years from the date of issue, unless otherwise mentioned in the registration letter.

iv. The validity of the registration may be extended, if deemed expedient, the period of registration by 10 years at one time, upon request of the OSP, if made during the 19th year of the registration period on the terms mutually agreed. The decision of the Authority shall be final in regard to the grant of extension.

Annexure

Registered OSP Data as on 31-10-2016							
S.No.	Licensed Service	Total Registered	Area of Jurisdiction				
	Area (LSA)	OSP as on					
		31.10.2016					
1	Andhra Pradesh	1133	Andhra Pradesh, Telangana				
2	Assam	29	Assam				
3	Bihar	26	Bihar, Jharkhand				
4	Delhi	2077	Delhi including Ghaziabad, NOIDA, Faridabad and Gurgaon				
5	Gujarat	407	Gujarat including UT of Daman & Diu and UT of Dadra & Nagar Haveli				
6	Haryana	7	Haryana excluding Faridabad & Gurgaon				
7	Himachal Pradesh	14	Himachal Pradesh				
8	J&K	18	J&K				
9	Karnataka	1384	Karnataka				
10	Kerala	202	Kerala and UT of Lakshdweep				
11	Kolkata	811	Kolkata				
12	Madhya Pradesh	125	Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh				
13	Maharashtra	807	State of Maharashtra excluding				
			Mumbai				
14	Mumbai	1283	Mumbai				
15	North East	8	Meghalaya, Tripura, Mizoram,				
			Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland,				
			Manipur				
16	Odisha	36	Odisha				
17	Punjab	330	Punjab and UT of Chandigarh				
18	Rajasthan	121	Rajasthan				
19	Tamilnadu	1046	Tamilnadu and UT of Pudducherry				
20	Uttar Pradesh (East)	90	State of UP(E)				
21	Uttar Pradesh (West)	64	State of UP(W) (excluding				
			Ghaziabad and Noida city) + state of				
			Uttarakhand				
22	West Bengal	24	State of West Bengal (excluding				
			Kolkata) + State of Sikkim + UT of				
			Andaman & Nicobar				
	Total	10042					