## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF URBAN DEVELOPOMENT

#### **LOK SABHA**

## UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2305 TO BE ANSWERED ON NOVEMBER 30, 2016

#### **MUNICIPAL CORPORATIONS**

#### No. 2305 SHRI TAMRADHWAJ SAHU:

Will the Minister OF URBAN DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:-

- (a) the details of the number of Municipal Corporations in the country, location and State-wise;
- (b) the population required for setting up a municipal corporation;
- (c) whether the Government proposes to constitute a municipality corporation in the State of Chhattisgarh by merging Durg-Bhilai-Charoda municipality, Kumhari municipal and Raipur-Birgaon municipality; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof and the time by which it is likely to be constituted?

#### **ANSWER**

# THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF URBAN DEVELOPMENT (RAO INDERJIT SINGH)

- (a): Details are given in Annexures I & II.
- (b): There is no fixed population criteria required for setting up of Municipal Corporations.
- (c): No. Madam. The competence to constitute a municipal corporation lies with the respective State Government.
- (d): Question does not arise.

\*\*\*\*

## Annexure-I as referred to in reply to part (a) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.2305 for 30.11.2016

#### State-wise list of Municipal Corporations

ANNEXURE I

SI. No	Town Name / Stats	Municipal Corporation
1	Andhra Pradesh	10
. 2	Arunachal Pradesh	0
3	Assam	, 1
. 4_	Bihar	- 11
5	Chhattisgarh	10
6	Goa	
- 7	Gujarat	7
8	Haryana	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
9	Himachal Pradesh	·
10	Jammu & Kashmir	2
11	Jharkhand	3
12	Karnataka	8
13	Kerala	. 5
14	Madhya Pradesh	14
15	Maharashtra	23
16	Manipur –	1
17	Meghalaya	0
18	Mizoram	0
19	Nagaland	. 0
20	Odisha	3
21	Punjab	- 5
22	Rajasthan	.5
23 ·	Sikkim	1
24	Tamil Nadu	12
25	Telangana	5
26	Tripura	0
27	Uttar Pradesh	13
28	Uttarakhand	
2.9	West Bengal	. 6
. 30	A & N Islands.	. 0
31 :	Chandigarh	6 Å, p = 1
32	Delhi	3
33	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	-0
34	Daman & Diu	0
35	Lakshadweep	0
36	Puducherry	. 0
	Total	154

. . . .

Source: Census of India, 2011 and updated information received from various State governments

## Annexure-II as referred to in reply to part (a) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.2305 for 30.11.2016

State-wise details of Municipal Corporations
ANNEXURE II

SI. No	-	Andhra Pradesh	I .
1	1	Anantapur	M.Corp
2	2	Eluru	M.Corp
3	3	Greater Visakhapatnam	M.Corp
4	4	Guntur	M.Corp
5	5	Kadapa	M.Corp
.6	6	Kakinada	M.Corp
7	7	Kurnool	M.Corp
8	-8	Nellore	-M.Corp
. 9	· 9 ·	Rajahmundry	M.Corp
10	10	Tirupati	-M.Corp
	11	Assam	C. C.
11	1	Guwahati	M.Corp.
	9. 6.	Bihar	
-: 12	1	Arrah	M.Corp.
13	2	Begusarai	M.Corp
14	3	Bhagalpur	M.Corp.
15	4	Biharsharif	M.Corp.
16	5	Darbhanga	M.Corp
17	6	Gaya	M.Corp.
1.8	7	Katihar	M.Corp.
19	8	Munger	M.Corp.
20	9	Muzaffarpur	M.Corp
21	10	Patna	M.Corp.
22	11	Puŕnia	M.Corp.
,		Chandigarh	
23	1	Chandigarh	M.Corp
	1	Chattisgarh	
. 24	1	Ambikapur	M.Corp
25	.2	Bhilai Nagar	M.Corp
26	3	Bilaspur	M.Corp
27	4	Chirmiri	M.Corp
28	5	Durg	M.Corp
. 29	.6	Jagdalpur	M.Corp.
30	7	Korba	M.Corp
	1 2	1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1	M.Corp
31	8	Ralgarh	M.Corp
32	9	Raipur	M.Corp
33	10	Rajnandgaon NCT Delhi	ivicorp
34	1	North Delhi	M.Corp
35	1	South Delhi	M.Corp
36	3	EastDelhi	4
50	3	Goa	Wilcorp
37	1	Panaji	M.Corp

	i je	Gujarat	
38	1	Ahmedabad	M Corp.
39	2	Bhavnagar	M Corp.
40	3	Jamnagar	M Corp.
41	-4	Junagadh	M Corp.
42	-5	Rajkot	M Corp.
43	6	Surat	M Corp.
44	7	Vadodara	M Corp.
		Haryana 1	49 W.
45	1	Faridabad	M.Corp
- 46	-2		M.Corp
40	-	Himachal Pradesh	
47	1	Shimla	M.Corp.
47			
		J& K	MCorn
48	1	Jammu	M.Corp
49	2	Srinagar	M. Corp
		Jharkhand	* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
50	1	Deoghar	M Corp.
51	2	Dhanbad	M Corp.
52	3	Ranchi	M Corp.
		Karnataka	
53	1	BBMP	M.Corp.
. 54	2	Belgaum	M.Corp.
55	3	Bellary	M.Corp.
. 56	4	Davanagere	M,Corp.
5.7	5	Gulbarga	M.Corp.
58	6	Hubli-Dharwad	M.Corp.
59	7	Mangalore	M.Corp.
60	8	Mysore	M.Corp.
1 1		Kerala	
61	1	Kochi	M.Corp
62	2	Kollam	M.Corp.
63	3	Kozhikode	M.Corp
Section 1	4	Thiruvananthapuram	M.Corp
64	5	Thrissur	M.Corp
65	3	MP	, Micorp
66	1	Bhopal	M.Corp
67	2	Burhanpur	M.Corp
68	3	Dewas	M.Corp
	4	Gwalior	M.Corp
69 70	-	The second secon	M.Corp
70	5-	Indore Jabalpur	M.Corp
72	7	Khandwa	M.Corp
. 12	1.	Midiawo	

			100	ATT			
<u> -</u>	7	4	9	Ratlam	. * 1	M.Corp	
-	7	5	10	Rewa		M.Corp	
-	71	6	11	Sagar		M.Corp	
-	7	7	12	Satna	gara d	M.Corp	
-	78 13		13	Singrauli		M.Corp	
-	79 14		14	Ujjain		M.Corp	
12	-	19	111	Maharastra	4.1		
-3	80		1.	Ahmadnagar		M. Corp	
- 1.	.81		2.	Akola	- 1	M. Corp	
	.82	1	3	Amravati		M. Corp	
i de la la	83	1	1	Aurangabad		M. Corp	
	84	1.5	5	Bhlwandi		M. Corp	
	85	6		Dhule		M. Corp	
	86	7		Greater Mumbal		M. Corp	
S	87	8		Jalgaon		M. Corp	
wild a	88	9		Kalyan Dombivali		M. Corp	
- 35	89	10	)	Kolhapur		M. Corp	
13	90	11		Malegaon		M. Corp	
	91	12		Mira Bhayandar		M. Corp	
	92	13	134	Nagpur		M. Corp	
	93	14		Nanded Waghala			
	94	15		Vashik V		M. Corp	
· da	95	16	1	Vavi Mumbai		M. Corp	
1.0	96	17		Pimpri Chinchwad		M. Corp	
1	97	18	4	une	1	A. Corp	
10	98	19		angli-Miraj Kupwad		A. Corp	
15	99	20		olapur Kupwao	3	1. Corp	
. 10	-	21	1	hane		1. Corp	
10	- 5				7	1. Corp	
10	7.1	22	100	lhasnagar	N	1. Corp	
200		23	-	asai-Virar City	I N	1. Corp	
10	7	2.0		1anipur	+		
10	3	1	1.74	nphal	M	. Corp	
0.53		7 100		disha	X		
10		1		hubaneswar	N	Corp	
10	e :	2	380	ahmapur	M	Corp	
. 10	0	3	0	Uttack	M	.Corp	
107	7	1	- 11	Injab		1	
108	110	1	14000	nritsar		Corp.	
108	1 1	2		thinda :	M.Corp.		
110		3-				Corp.	
4. v .,	1.5	1.14	100		1 10	Corp.	
111	+	5		tiala lasthan	M.	Corp.	
112		1		ner	NA.	Corri	
113			4	aner		Corp	
114	1		100	our	131	Corp	
	1.		191	AUL .	M.	Corp	

				40,		CALL SECTION
417.						
	=1=1=1=1=	1.74	9	To de		
		0.50				
Ratlam	M.Corp	4 9	1:	15	4 Jodhpur	M Corp
0 Rewa	M.Corp	4	11	6	5 Kota	M Corp
Sagar	M.Corp	-		v	Sikkim	
2 Satna	M.Corp		11	7	1 Gangtok	M.Corp
Singraull	M.Corp				Tamil Nadu	тисогр
Ujjain	M.Corp		11	8	1 Chennal	M.Corp
Maharastra	4		11	9	2 Colmbatore	M.Corp.
Ahmadnagar	M. Corp		12	0	3 Frode 1	M.Corp
Akola	M. Corp	1000	12	1	4 Madurai	M.Corp
Amravati	M. Corp		12	2	5 Salem	M.Corp
Aurangabad	M. Corp		123	3	6 Thoothukkudi	M.Corp
Bhlwandi	M. Corp	- 1	122	1	7 Tiruchirappalli	.M.Corp
-Dhule:	M. Corp		125	;	8 Tirunelveli	M.Corp
Greater Mumbai	M. Corp	3	126	,	9 Tiruppur	M.Corp
Jalgaon	M. Corp	1	127	1	0. Vellore	M.Corp
-Kalyan Dombivali	M. Corp	-	128	1	1 Dindugal	M.Corp
Kolhapur	M. Corp		129	1		M.Corp
Malegaon	M. Corp		+	i	Telangana	· · · ·
Mira Bhayandar	M. Corp		130	1		M.Corp
Vagpur	M. Corp	μ,	131	12		M.Corp
landed Waghala	M. Corp	1.	132	3	Nizamabad	.M.Corp
Vashik Vij	M. Corp		133	4	Vijayawada	M.Corp
Navi Mumbai	M. Corp		134	5	Warangal	M.Corp
Impri Chinchwad	M. Corp			-4	UP	5 17 1 A.S
une .	M. Corp		135	1	Agra M Corp.	M.Corp
angli-Miraj Kupwad	M. Corp		136	2	Aligarh	M.Corp
Solapur	M. Corp		137	3	Allahabad M Corp.	M.Corp
Thane	M. Corp		138	4	Bareilly	M.Corp
Nhasnagar	M. Corp		139	5	Ghaziabad	M.Corp
/asai-Virar City	M. Corp		140	6	Gorakhpur	M.Corp
Manipur			141	7	Jhansi M Corp.	M.Corp
mphal	M. Corp		142	- 8	Kanpur M.Corp	M.Corp
Odisha			143	9	Lucknow	M.Corp
hubaneswar	M.Corp	-	144	10	Meerut'M Corp.	M.Corp
rahmapur	M.Corp		145	11	Moradabad	M.Corp
uttack	M.Corp	1	146	12	Saharanpar	
unjab	, and a		147	13	Varanasi	M.Corp
nritsər	M.Corp.	a (		ii.	Uttarkhand	M.Corp
thinda	M.Corp.		148	1	Dehradun	M Corp.
andhar	M.Corp.			*	West Bengal	ivi corp.
dhiana	M.Corp.		149	1	Asansol	MCorn
tiala	M.Corp.		150	2	Chandannagar	M Corp.
ijasthan *			151	3	Durgapur	M Corp.
mer	M Corp		152	4	Haora.	M Corp.
kaner	M Corp		153	5	Kolkata	M Corp.
pur	M Corp		154	6	Siliguri	M Corp.