GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2200

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 29TH NOVEMBER, 2016/AGRAHAYANA 8, 1938 (SAKA)
INTER STATE COUNCIL

2200. SHRI B. VINOD KUMAR:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government has reconstituted the Inter State Council (ISC); and
- (b) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI HANSRAJ GANGARAM AHIR)

(a) & (b): The Inter State Council (ISC) was established under Article 263 of the Constitution of India through a Presidential Order dated 28th May 1990. The ISC has been last reconstituted vide Notification Dated 19th October 2016 and the current composition is as follows:

Chairman

Shri Narendra Modi

- Prime Minister

Members

- (i) Chief Ministers of all States.
- (ii) Chief Ministers of Union Territories having a Legislative Assembly and Administrators of Union Territories not having Legislative Assembly.
- (iii) Union Ministers

LS.US.Q.No. 2200 FOR 29.11.2016

(a) Shri Rajnath Singh - Minister of Home Affairs

(b) Smt. Sushma Swaraj - Minister of External Affairs

(c) Shri Arun Jaitley - Minister of Finance and Corporate Affairs

(d) Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu - Minister of Urban Development, Housing &

Urban Poverty Alleviation and Information &

Broadcasting

(e) Shri Nitin Jairam Gadkari - Minister of Road Transport & Highways and

Shipping

(f) Shri Manohar Parrikar - Minister of Defence

Union Cabinet Ministers/Ministers of State (Independent Charge) as Permanent Invitees:

(a) Shri Suresh Prabhu - Minister of Railways

(b) Shri Ramvilas Paswan - Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and

Public Distribution

(c)Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad - Minister of Law & Justice and Electronics &

Information Technology

(d) Smt. Harsimrat Kaur Badal - Minister of Food Processing Industries

(e) Shri Jual Oram - Minister of Tribal Affairs

(f) Shri Thaawar Chand Gehlot - Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment

(g) Shri Prakash Javadekar - Minister of Human Resource Development

LS.US.Q.No. 2200 FOR 29.11.2016

- (h) Shri Dharmendra Pradhan Minister of State (IC) for Petroleum and

 Natural Gas
- (i) Shri Piyush Goyal Minister of State (IC) for Power, Coal, Mines and New & Renewable Energy
- (j) Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman Minister of State (IC) for Commerce and Industry
