GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.†2103

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 29^{TH} NOVEMBER, 2016/AGRAHAYANA 8, 1938 (SAKA)

INTERNAL SECURITY SITUATION

†2103. SHRI SUNIL KUMAR SINGH:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government had received some reports prepared on the state of Internal Security in the year 2006;
- (b) if so, the details of the findings of the said report;
- (c) whether it is a fact that the problem of Naxalism is present in the entire country;
- (d) if so, the details thereof and the status of the action taken on the said report; and
- (e) whether the Government proposes to conduct a study on the present situation of internal security and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI HANSRAJ GANGARAM AHIR)

(a) & (b): The Government receives reports from the Security Agencies, on the security situation prevalent in their areas of operation, from time to time. However, the details cannot be shared in view of national security.

L.S.US. Q.No. 2103 FOR 29.11.2016

(c) & (d): No, Madam. Presently, 106 districts in 10 States are Left Wing Extremism affected. The details of these States/Districts is attached as Annexure.

(e): The internal security situation of the country is monitored by the Government on continuous basis and appropriate measures are adopted to keep it under control. Presently, the internal security situation in the country is under control, except for some law and order issues arising now and then in some States.

L.S.US.Q.NO. 2103 FOR 29.11.2016

ANNEXURE

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (c) & (d) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2103 FOR 29TH NOVEMBER, 2016

List of States/Districts affected by Left Wing Extremism

S.	State	Number	Name of Districts
No.		of Districts	
1.	Andhra Pradesh	8	Anantapur, East Godavari, Guntur, Kurnool, Prakasam, Srikakulam, Visakhapatnam and Vizianagaram.
2.	Bihar	22	Arwal, Aurangabad, Bhojpur, East Champaran, Gaya, Jamui, Jehanabad, Kaimur, Munger, Nalanda, Nawada, Patna, Rohtas, Sitamarhi, West Champaran, Muzaffarpur, Sheohar, Vaishali, Banka, Lakhisarai, Begusarai and Khagaria.
3.	Chhattisgarh	16	Bastar, Bijapur, Dantewada, Jashpur, Kanker, Korea (Baikunthpur), Narayanpur, Rajnandgaon, Sarguja, Dhamtari, Mahasamund, Gariyaband Balod, Sukma, Kondagaon and Balrampur.
4.	Jharkhand	21	Bokaro, Chatra, Dhanbad, East Singhbhum, Garhwa, Giridih, Gumla, Hazaribagh, Koderma, Latehar, Lohardagga, Palamu, Ranchi, Simdega, Saraikela-Kharaswan, West Singhbhum, Khunti, Ramgarh, Dumka, Deoghar and Pakur.
5.	Madhya Pradesh	1	Balaghat
6.	Maharashtra	4	Chandrapur, Gadchiroli, Gondia and Aheri

L.S.US.Q.NO. 2103 FOR 29.11.2016

7.	Odisha	19	Gajapati, Ganjam, Keonjhar, Koraput, Malkangiri, Mayurbhanj, Navrangpur, Rayagada, Sambhalpur, Sundargarh, Nayagarh, Kondhamal, Deogarh, Jajpur, Dhenkanal, Kalahandi, Nuapada, Bargarh and Bolangir
8.	Telangana	8	Adilabad, Karimnagar, Khammam, Medak, Mehboobnagar, Nalgonda, Warangal and Nizamabad
9.	Uttar Pradesh	3	Chandauli, Mirzapur and Sonebhadra
10.	West Bengal	4	Bankura, West Medinipur, Purulia and Birbhum
Total 106		106	
