## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF DEFENCE DEFENCE RESEARCH & DEVELOPMENT ORGANISATION LOK SABHA

## **UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1834**

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 25<sup>TH</sup> NOVEMBER, 2016

## CENTRE OF EXCELLENCE IN DEFENCE SECTOR

1834. SHRIMATI POONAM MAHAJAN:

Will the Minister of DEFENCE j{kk ea=h be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of Centres of Excellence of Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) exist for conducting research in the defence sector;
- (b) whether DRDO proposes to set up new Centre of Excellence for research and development and if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) the funds allocated by the Government for the development of centres of excellence in the defence sector for the last three years?

## A N S W E R

MINISTER OF STATE
IN THE MINISTRY OF DEFENCE

(DR. SUBHASH BHAMRE)

रारायमं ी

(डा. सुभाष भामरे)

- (a) There are nine Centres of Excellence (CoE) functioning under Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO). Details are given below:
  - (i) DRDO Bhartihar University (DRDO-BU) Centre of Excellence, Coimbatore.
  - (ii) Advanced Centre for Research in High Energy Materials (ACRHEM), University of Hyderabad.
  - (iii) Centre of Excellence in Cryptology, ISI Kolkata.
  - (iv) Centre of Millimeter Wave Semiconductor Devices and System, University of Calcutta, Kolkata.
  - (v) Advanced Centre for Excellence on Composite Materials, National Aerospace Laboratory (NAL), Bengaluru.

.....2/-

- (vi) Research and Innovation Centre (RIC), Chennai.
- (vii) Centre of Propulsion Technology (CoPT), IIT- Bombay.
- (viii) Jagdish Chandra Bose Centre for Advanced Technology (JCBCAT), Jadavpur University, Kolkata.
- (ix) Joint Advanced Technology Centre (JATC), IIT- Delhi.
- (b) At present, there is no proposal to set up new Centre of Excellence by DRDO
- (c) Out of nine Centres of Excellence, six were established more than three years ago. Whereas, the following three Centres of Excellence have been established during 2016. Details of funds allocated to these three Centres during 2016-17 are given below:
  - (i) Centre of Propulsion Technology (CoPT), IIT- Bombay. Established in June 2016. Rs. 10.70 Cr has been allocated during 2016-17.
  - (ii) Jagdish Chandra Bose Centre for Advanced Technology (JCBCAT), Jadavpur University, Kolkata. Established in June 2016. Rs. 19.20 Cr has been allocated during 2016-17.
  - (iii) Joint Advanced Technology Centre (JATC), IIT- Delhi. Established in Oct 2016. Rs. 81.10 Cr has been allocated during 2016-17.

\*\*\*\*\*