GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1658 TO BE ANSWERED ON 25.11.2016

INTEGRATED CHILD PROTECTION SCHEME

1658: SHRIMATI POONAM MAHAJAN:

Will the Minister of WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a): whether all States/UTs in the country have been mandated to have one State Child Protection Society and State Adoption Resource Agency under the Integrated Child Protection Scheme (ICPS) if so, the details and compliance status thereof; and
- (b): if not, the reasons therefor along with corrective measures taken by the Government in this regard?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT (SHRIMATI KRISHNA RAJ)

(a) & (b): The Ministry of Women and Child Development (MWCD) is implementing a centrally sponsored Integrated Child Protection Scheme (ICPS) for the improvement for the welfare of children in difficult circumstances, under which funds are provided to the State Governments/UT Administrations. All the States Governments/UT Administrations have signed the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with Ministry for implementation of the Scheme. Under the provisions of ICPS, State Child Protection Society (SCPS) and State Adoption Resource Agency (SARA) have to be set up. The State/UT-wise details of SCPS and SARA supported under ICPS is annexed.

Annexure referred to in reply to part (a&b) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1658 for 25.11.2016 raised by Shrimati Poonam Mahajan regarding Integrated Child Protection Scheme.

Details of State Child Protection Society (SCPS) and State Adoption Resource Agency (SARA) States/UTs-

wise being supported under ICPS.

ise being supported under ICPS.	SCPS	SARA
S. No. State	No. Assisted	No. Assisted
1 Andhra Pradesh	1	1
2 Arunachal Pradesh	1	1
3 Assam	1	1
4 Bihar	1	1
5 Chhattisgarh	1	1
6 Goa	1	1
7 Gujarat	1	1
8 Haryana	1	1
9 Himachal Pradesh	1	1
10 Jammu and Kashmir	1	1
11 Jharkhand	1	1
12 Karnataka	1	1
13 Kerala	1	1
14 Madhya Pradesh	1	1
15 Maharashtra	1	1
16 Manipur	1	1
17 Meghalaya	1	1
18 Mizoram	1	1
19 Nagaland	1	1
20 Odisha	1	1
21 Punjab	1	1
22 Rajasthan	1	1
23 Sikkim	1	1
24 Tamil Nadu	1	1
25 Tripura	1	1
26 Uttar Pradesh	1	1
27 Uttarakhand	1	1
28 West Bengal	1	1
29 Telangana	1	1
30 Andaman & Nicobar	1	-
31 Chandigarh	1	1
32 Dadra and Nagar Haveli	1	1
33 Daman and Diu	1	1
34 Lakshadweep	-	-
35 National Capital Territory of Delhi	1	1
36 Puducherry	1	1
Total	35	34