GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY DEPARTMENT OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1166 TO BE ANSWERED ON 23/11/2016

SCIENCE CITIES/CENTRES

1166. SHRIMATI POONAM MAHAJAN:

Will the Minister of SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY विज्ञान और प्रौद्योगिकी मंत्री be pleased to state:

(a) the details of the Science Cities and Science Centres which exist across States in India;

(b) the cities which have been selected by the Government of India for the construction of Science Cities in the country;

(c) the details regarding the development of these Science Cities and the time by which they are intended to come into existence; and

(d) whether the Government is intending to expand the number of Science Centres across various States in the country and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EARTH SCIENCES (SHRI.Y. S. CHOWDARY)

विज्ञान और प्रौद्योगिकी मंत्रालय में राज्य मंत्री और पृथ्वी विज्ञान मंत्रालय में राज्य मंत्री (श्री वाई. एस. चौधरी)

(a) Madam, Department of Science and Technology does not deal with Science Cities and Science Centres. National Council of Science Museums (NCSM), an Autonomous Organization under the Ministry of Culture, Govt. of India, is the nodal agency for developing Science Museums and Science Centers throughout the Country including Science Cities. The statement showing details of Science Centers set up by NCSM are as follows:-

| Sl. | Names of the Science Cities/Museums/Centres under NCSM | State-wise |
|-----|---|-------------|
| No. | | location |
| (1) | (2) | (3) |
| 01 | Birla Industrial & Technological Museum, Kolkata | West Bengal |
| 02 | Science City, Kolkata | West Bengal |
| 03 | Nehru Science Centre, Mumbai | Maharashtra |
| 04 | National Science Centre, Delhi | New Delhi |
| 05 | Visvesvaraya Industrial & Technological Museum, Bangalore | Karnataka |
| 06 | Shri Krishna Science Centre, Patna | Bihar |

| (1) | (2) | (3) |
|-----|---|----------------|
| 07 | Regional Science City, Lucknow | Uttar Pradesh |
| 08 | Regional Science Centre, Bhubaneswar | Odisha |
| 09 | Raman Science Centre and Planetarium, Nagpur | Maharashtra |
| (1) | (2) | (3) |
| 10 | Regional Science Centre, Tirupati | Andhra Pradesh |
| 11 | Regional Science Centre, Guwahati | Assam |
| 12 | Regional Science Centre, Bhopal | Madhya Pradesh |
| 13 | Regional Science Centre & Planetarium, Calicut | Kerala |
| 14 | Kurukshetra Panorama & Science Centre, Kurukshetra | Haryana |
| 15 | Bardhaman Science Centre, Bardhaman | West Bengal |
| 16 | District Science Centre, Purulia | West Bengal |
| 17 | District Science Centre, Digha | West Bengal |
| 18 | North Bengal Science Centre & Planetarium, Siliguri | West Bengal |
| 19 | Dhenkanal Science Centre, Dhenkanal & Kapilas Sc. Park | Odisha |
| 20 | District Science Centre & Planetarium, Dharampur | Gujarat |
| 21 | Goa Science Centre & Planetarium, Panaji | Goa |
| 22 | District Science Centre & Planetarium, Gulbarga | Karnataka |
| 23 | District Science Centre & Planetarium, Tirunelveli | Tamil Nadu |

In addition, NCSM has developed the following Regional/Sub-Regional Science Centres consisting of Science Parks jointly with the respective State Governments/UTs & handed over for operation and maintenance to them under Science Cities Scheme of Ministry of Culture, Govt. of India:

| Sl. | Science Centers/Planetarium | Name of State/ Union |
|-----|---|----------------------|
| No. | | Territory |
| (1) | (2) | (2) |
| 1. | Science Centre, Port Blair, | A&N Island |
| 2. | Mizoram Science Centre, Aizwal | Mizoram |
| 3. | Nagaland Science Centre, Dimapur, | Nagaland |
| 4. | Manipur Science Centre, Manipur | Manipur |
| 5. | Itanagar Science Centre, Itanagar | Arunachal Pradesh |
| 6. | Shillong Science Centre, Shillong, | Meghalaya |
| 7. | Sikkim Science Centre & Planetarium, Gangtok | Sikkim |
| 8. | Sub-Regional Science Centres, Kalimpong | West Bengal |
| 9. | Sub-Regional Science Centre, Solapur | Maharastra |
| 10. | Regional Science Centre, Ranchi | Jharkhand |
| 11. | Regional Science Centre, Dharwad | Karnataka |
| 12. | Regional Science Centre, Raipur | Chattisgarh |
| 13 | Maharaja Ranjit Singh Panorama, Amritsar | Punjab |
| 14 | Kalpana Chawla Planetarium, Kurukshetra | Haryana |
| 15 | Regional Science Centre, Jaipur | Rajasthan |
| 16 | Regional Science Centre, Pune | Maharashtra |
| 17 | ONGC Golden Jubilee Museum, Dehradun | Uttarakhand |
| 18 | Sub-Regional Science Centre, Jodhpur | Rajasthan |
| 19 | Jorhat Science Centre & Planetarium, Jorhat | Assam |
| 20 | Regional Science Centre, Coimbatore | Tamil Nadu |
| 21 | Regional Science Centre, Pilikula, Mangalore | Karnataka |
| 22 | Sub-Regional Science Centre & Planetarium, Puducherry | Puducherry |
| 23 | Regional Science Centre, Dehradun | Uttarakhand |

(b) Guwahati (Assam) has been selected by Govt. of India for the construction of a Science City. In addition to above, NCSM has also received proposals from the State Governments of Haryana, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Odisha, and Chhattisgarh.

- (c) Details of such proposals are as follows:
 - 1. Science City, Sampla, Government of Haryana
 - 2. Science City, Bangalore, Government of Karnataka
 - 3. Science City, Navi Mumbai, Government of Maharashtra
 - 4. Science City, Hyderabad, Government of Andhra Pradesh (*before bifurcation into Telengana and Andhra Pradesh*).
 - 5. Science City, Patna, Government of Bihar
 - 6. Science City, Nagpur, Government of Maharashtra
 - 7. Science City, Bhubaneswar, Government of Odisha
 - 8. Science City, Kumhari, Government of Chhattisgarh
 - 9. Science City/Centre, Vishakhapatnam, Government of Andhra Pradesh

Approximate time for completion of these projects is 54 months from the date of commencement of construction work as per the norms of NCSM.

(d) Yes, Madam. Government is intending to expand the number of Science Centres across various States in the country. The following Science Centre/Cities projects have been taken up by NCSM in a phased manner:-

| Sl. | Name of Regional Science Centres | State / Union Territory |
|-----|--|-------------------------|
| No. | | |
| (1) | (2) | (3) |
| 01 | Regional Science Centre, Kottayam | Kerala |
| 02 | Regional Science Centre, Mysore | Karnataka |
| 03 | Sub-Regional Science Centre, Bargarh | Odisha |
| 04 | Sub-Regional Science Centre, Udaipur | Tripura |
| 05 | Sub-Regional Science Centre, Palampur | Himachal Pradesh |
| 06 | Science City, Guwahati | Assam |
| 07 | Sub-Regional Science Centre, Rajahmundry | Andhra Pradesh |
| 08 | Sub-Regional Science Centre, Udaipur | Rajasthan |
| 09 | Sub-Regional Science Centre, Kokrajhar | Assam |
| 10 | Sub-Regional Science Centre, Mayabunder | A&N Islands |
