GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF URBAN DEVELOPMENT

LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO. 12*

TO BE ANSWERED ON NOVEMBER 16, 2016

EARTHQUAKE-RESISTANT HOUSING

No. 12* SHRI AJAY MISHRA TENI: DR. BHARATIBEN D. SHYAL:

Will the Minister of URBAN DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of earthquake prone areas in the country, location and State-wise
- (b) whether steps have been taken/being taken to identify unsafe monument, residential and other buildings alongwith details of buildings if so, the details thereof along with the building identified unsafe, State-wise;
- (c) whether the Government has constructed or proposed to construct earthquake-resistant houses/buildings in the country, and if so, the details thereof, State-wise along with their percentage to the total construction;
- (d) whether the Government proposes to formulate a rehabilitation programme and to set-up a relief fund after making assessment of damage caused by earthquakes, and If so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF URBAN DEVELOPMENT (SHRI M. VENKAIAH NAIDU)

(a)to (d): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY OF LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 12 FOR ANSWER ON 16.11.2016 REGARDING EARTHQUAKE-RESISTANT HOUSING

(a): Bureau of Indian Standards, based on the past seismic history has categorized the country into four seismic zones, viz. Zone-II, -III, -IV and -V. Of these, Zone V is the most seismically active zone, while zone II is the least in terms of earth vulnerability

Seismic Zone vulnerability

Zone	Intensity
Ш	Low
Ш	Moderate
IV	Severe
V	Very Severe

State wise details are given as under:

Broadly, Zone-V comprises entire northeastern India, parts of Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttaranchal, Rann of Kutch in Gujarat, parts of North Bihar and Andaman & Nicobar Islands.

Zone-IV covers remaining parts of Jammu & Kashmir and Himachal Pradesh, Union Territory of Delhi, Sikkim, northern parts of Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and West Bengal, parts of Gujarat and small portions of Maharashtra near the west coast and Rajasthan.

Zone-III comprises Kerala, Goa, Lakshadweep islands, and remaining parts of Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat and West Bengal, parts of Punjab, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Andhra Pradesh, Tamilnadu and Karnataka. Zone-II covers remaining parts of the country.

- (b): The identification & action regarding unsafe monuments & other buildings is within the purview of respective Urban Local Body/ State Government.
- (c): All the buildings construction by CPWD follow BIS norms for earthquake-resistant building. In the Guidelines for Pradhan Mantri AwasYojana, Housing For All (Urban), it is specifically mentioned that "The houses under the Mission should be designed and constructed to meet the requirements of structural safety against earthquake, flood, cyclone, landslides etc. Conforming to National Building Code and other relevant Indian Standards (BIS) Codes".
- (d): There is no proposal to formulate a new relief fund for rehabilitation programme.
