# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 95 ANSWERED ON 21/07/2025

#### STATUS OF PM-EBUS SEWA

#### 95. DR. DHARMASTHALA VEERENDRA HEGGADE:

#### Will the Minister of HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the status of the PM eBus Sewa Tender along with the total number of electric buses deployed under the said scheme since its inception, State and year-wise;
- (b) the details of funds disbursed under the said scheme, State and year-wise; and
- (c) the number of electric buses deployed under the said scheme in Karnataka, particularly in Bangalore, Udupi, Mangalore and Hubli?

#### **ANSWER**

### THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS (SHRI TOKHAN SAHU)

(a) Government of India has launched "PM-eBus Sewa Scheme" on 16th August 2023 with the aim to augment bus operations by deployment of 10,000 electric buses on PPP model. Deployment of electric buses under the scheme is subject to the completion of work related to Associated Infrastructure (Behind-the-Meter Power and Civil Depot Infrastructure). A total of 7293 buses have been sanctioned so far out of which 6518 buses have been tendered. The State-wise, year-wise details of number of buses sanctioned under the PM-eBus Sewa Scheme are given in **Annexure-I.** 

The Status of PM-eBus Sewa Tenders is as under:

#### Tender-I:

- A total of 2155 buses have been tendered for 5 States/UT (Assam, Maharashtra, Haryana, J&K, Chandigarh, Odisha)

#### Tender-II:

- A total of 4363 buses have been tendered (including re-tendered) for 15 States/UT (Ladakh, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Meghalaya, Bihar, Gujarat, Puducherry, Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, Haryana, J&K)
- (b) The details of funds disbursed under the scheme, State/UT-wise and year-wise, are given in **Annexure-II**.
- (c) As per the demand received from the State of Karnataka, a total of 750 electric buses have been sanctioned for all 10 eligible cities of the State under the PM-eBus Sewa Scheme. Bangalore and Udupi are not eligible as per the Scheme guidelines. The city-wise details of buses sanctioned are given in **Annexure III.**

## ANNEXURE TO THE RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 95 TO BE ANSWERED ON JULY 21, 2025

State-wise, year-wise details of number of buses sanctioned under the PM-eBus Sewa Scheme:

FY	State / UT	No. of Cities	No. of Buses Sanctioned
	Assam	01	100
	Bihar	06	400
	Chhattisgarh	04	240
	Gujarat	06	450
	Haryana	07	450
	Madhya Pradesh	06	582
	Maharashtra	22	1559
2023-24	Meghalaya	01	50
	Odisha	05	400
	Punjab	04	347
	Rajasthan	08	675
	Uttarakhand	02	150
	Chandigarh	01	100
	Jammu & Kashmir	02	200
	Ladakh	01	15
	Puducherry	01	75
2024-25*	Andhra Pradesh	11	750
	Karnataka	10	750
	18	98	7293

A total of 7,293 buses has been sanctioned under the PM-eBus Sewa Scheme, with **5,512 buses in FY 2023–24** and **1,781 buses in FY 2024–25** (\* Including revised demand from already approved States/UTs).

## ANNEXURE TO THE RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 95 TO BE ANSWERED ON JULY 21, 2025

<u>Details of State-wise funds disbursed under PM-eBus Sewa Scheme for development of Associated Infrastructure (₹ in crore):</u>

FY	S.No.	State	BTM	Civil	Total
	1	Assam	3.27	3.20	6.47
	2	Bihar	79.25	8.30	87.55
	3	Chandigarh	11.87	0.00	11.87
2024	4	Chhattisgarh	24.69	5.50	30.19
2024- 25	5	Gujarat	19.88	9.06	28.94
23	6	Maharashtra	167.65	32.53	200.18
	7	Odisha	39.91	7.81	47.72
	8	Rajasthan	35.84	8.62	44.46
	9	Punjab	12.84	5.22	18.06
		Total	395.19	80.24	475.44

## ANNEXURE TO THE RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 95 TO BE ANSWERED ON JULY 21, 2025

<u>City-wise details of the buses sanctioned to State of Karnataka under the PM-eBus Sewa Scheme:</u>

Sr. No	City	No. of buses sanctioned
1	Belagavi	100
2	Hubballi-Dharwad	100
3	Kalaburagi	100
4	Mangaluru	100
5	Mysore	100
6	Bellary	50
7	Bijapur	50
8	Davanagere	50
9	Shimoga	50
10	Tumkur	50
		750