GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 705 ANSWERED ON 10/02/2025

CONSTRUCTION OF HOUSES UNDER PMAY-U

705. SHRI LAHAR SINGH SIROYA:

Will the Minister of HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether any time limit has been fixed for completion of construction of houses after sanction under Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana-Urban (PMAY-U) and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) the number of houses sanctioned under PMAY-U in the State of Karnataka since 2020 which are not yet completed district-wise;
- (c) whether houses have not yet been sanctioned in the said districts and if so, the reasons therefor; and
- (d) the steps taken/being taken by Government to deal with the situation?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS (SHRI TOKHAN SAHU)

(a) to (d): The Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs (MoHUA) has been implementing Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana – Urban (PMAY-U) since June 25, 2015 to provide pucca house to eligible beneficiaries in urban areas across the country including the State of Karnataka. PMAY-U is a demand driven scheme. Selection of beneficiaries, under various verticals preferred by the beneficiaries, formulation of projects and execution is done by States/UTs. States/UTs prepare project proposals and after approval of State Level Sanctioning and Monitoring Committee (SLSMC), headed by Chief Secretary of the State/UT, these are submitted to the Ministry for sanctioning of admissible Central Assistance by Central Sanctioning and Monitoring Committee (CSMC). No proposal from the State of Karnataka is pending with the Ministry for approval under PMAY-U.

The timeline for completion of houses/projects varies from State to State and it generally takes 12-36 months in different verticals of the scheme and as per Detailed Project Reports (DPRs) of respective projects. The completion timeline for houses depends on various factors like availability of encumbrance free land, statutory compliances for start of construction, arrangement of funds by beneficiaries etc. The Ministry conducts regular reviews with the States/UTs to monitor progress of implementation of the scheme and expedite completion of sanctioned houses within the stipulated timeline. The scheme period of PMAY-U which was earlier up to 31.03.2022, has been extended till 31.12.2025, except for Credit Linked Subsidy Scheme (CLSS) vertical of the scheme, to complete all the houses sanctioned without changing the funding pattern and implementation methodology.

Based on project proposals received, a total of 6.38 lakh houses have been sanctioned by the Ministry under PMAY-U for the State of Karnataka, out of which 5.13 lakh have been grounded and more than 3.86 lakh is completed/delivered to the beneficiaries as on 03.02.2025. District-wise details of houses sanctioned, grounded and completed under PMAY-U since 2020 in Karnataka is given in Annexure.

Based on the learning from the experiences of 9 years implementation of PMAY-U, MoHUA has revamped the scheme and launched PMAY-U 2.0 'Housing for All' Mission with effect from 01.09.2024 for implementation in urban areas across the country to construct, purchase and rent a house by 1 crore additional eligible beneficiaries at affordable cost through four verticals i.e., Beneficiary Led Construction (BLC), Affordable Housing in Partnership (AHP), Affordable Rental Housing (ARH) and Interest Subsidy Scheme (ISS). As on date, 29 States/UTs have signed Memorandum of Agreement (MoA) to implement PMAY-U 2.0 as per scheme guidelines but Karnataka is yet to sign the MoA. The scheme guidelines are available at https://pmay-urban.gov.in/uploads/guidelines/Operational-Guidelines-of-PMAY-U-2.pdf.

District wise details for the progress of houses sanctioned since inception and since 2020 under PMAY-U in the State of Karnataka under PMAY-U

Sr. No.	District	Details of Houses since Inception (Nos)			Details of Houses since 2020 (Nos)		
		Sanctioned	Grounded	Completed	Sanctioned	Grounded	Completed
1	Bagalkote	19,844	16,508	13,987	4,217	3,628	2,824
2	Ballari	24,769	21,265	12,913	1,685	1,349	1,273
3	Belagavi	44,426	33,774	24,818	7,965	6,301	5,189
4	Bengaluru Rural	6,969	6,071	5,440	1,946	1,713	1,556
5	Bengaluru Urban	1,58,016	1,30,109	93,504	38,576	32,917	29,743
6	Bidar	14,134	10,328	8,491	1,712	1,118	967
7	Chamarajanagar	5,610	4,703	4,172	610	522	459
8	Chikkaballapura	6,558	5,476	4,263	1,416	1,123	816
9	Chikkamagaluru	6,479	5,500	3,422	1,507	1,111	907
10	Chitradurga	18,124	14,392	10,485	6,375	4,753	1,763
11	Dakshina Kannada	10,592	9,028	8,264	3,630	3,571	3,232
12	Davanagere	14,015	11,608	10,691	2,751	2,501	2,339
13	Dharwad	24,024	20,668	15,273	5,494	4,335	3,647
14	Gadag	23,296	14,362	9,589	7,705	2,442	1,840
15	Hassan	9,272	6,918	5,293	2,008	1,928	1,754
16	Haveri	16,631	13,803	11,962	6,356	5,699	5,330
17	Kalaburagi	30,589	21,505	18,058	4,633	3,302	2,911
18	Kodagu	848	808	573	313	287	141
19	Kolar	8,773	7,093	5,937	1,006	869	716
20	Koppal	10,364	8,536	7,514	2,564	2,018	1,782
21	Mandya	5,921	5,331	4,314	1,457	991	826
22	Mysuru	31,526	24,393	16,185	4,293	4,010	3,787
23	Raichur	22,219	19,231	13,553	8,208	7,286	3,710
24	Ramanagara	11,727	10,072	7,474	1,187	1,047	600
25	Shivamogga	19,279	15,923	9,255	5,240	2,690	2,265
26	Tumakuru	17,556	12,660	10,314	2,375	1,630	1,547
27	Udupi	4,631	4,083	3,544	2,108	1,675	1,314
28	Uttara Kannada	12,895	11,129	7,453	2,412	1,860	915
29	Vijayanagara	16,296	11,797	10,099	2,786	1,911	1,762
30	Vijayapura	31,865	25,893	21,183	3,957	2,378	2,084
31	Yadgir	10,873	9,943	8,482	2,292	1,665	1,241
Total		6,38,121	5,12,910	3,86,505	1,38,784	1,08,630	89,240