GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3984 TO BE ANSWERED ON 04/04/2025

AMRIT SAROVAR PROJECT IN KARNATAKA

3984 SHRI G.C. CHANDRASHEKHAR:

Will the Minister of RURAL DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the aims and objectives of Mission Amrit Sarovar;
- (b) the details of Amrit Sarovars (Ponds) identified under Amrit Sarovar Mission in the State of Karnataka, district-wise; and
- (c) the status of developing/rejuvenation of Amrit Sarovars identified from Karnataka?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SHRI KAMLESH PASWAN)

(a)to (c): Mission Amrit Sarovar was launched in April 2022 with the ambitious goal of constructing or rejuvenating 75 Amrit Sarovars (ponds) in each district, totaling 50,000 across the country. This initiative has made significant progress in addressing the critical issue of water scarcity and has contributed in enhancing surface and groundwater availability across various regions. These Sarovars have not only addressed immediate water needs but also established sustainable water sources, symbolizing Government's commitment to long-term environmental sustainability and community well-being. As on 31st March 2025, over 68,000 Sarovars have been completed.

Phase II of Mission Amrit Sarovar envisaged to continue with a renewed focus on ensuring water availability, with community participation (Jan Bhagidaari) at its core, and aims to strengthen climate resilience, foster ecological balance, and deliver lasting benefits for future generations.

Under the Mission Amrit Sarovar, a total of 4,056 Amrit Sarovar works were completed in Karnataka State. District-wise details of Amrit Sarovar completed in Karnataka as on 31.03.2025 are given at **Annexure**.

Annexure referred to in reply to parts (a)to(c) of Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No.3984 dated 04.04.2025.

I. No.	District	Number of Amrit Sarovar Completed
1	Bagalkote	144
2	Ballari	128
3	Bangalore	74
4	Belagavi	228
5	Bengaluru Rural	148
6	Bidar	98
7	Chamarajanagara	126
8	Chikkaballapura	153
9	Chikkamagaluru	170
10	Chitradurga	124
11	Dakshina Kannada	76
12	Davanagere	125
13	Dharwad	105
14	Gadag	82
15	Hassan	209
16	Haveri	137
17	Kalaburagi	116
18	Kodagu	75
19	Kolar	198
20	Koppal	111
21	Mandya	158
22	Mysuru	152
23	Raichur	125
24	Ramanagara	195
25	Shivamogga	184
26	Tumakuru	114
27	Udupi	99
28	Uttara Kannada	97
29	Vijayapura	101
30	Vijaynagar	88
31	Yadgir	116
	Total	4,056
		-
