GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL EDUCATION & LITERACY

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3569 ANSWERED ON 02.04.2025

Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya

3569 Shri Sandosh Kumar P:

Will the Minister of *Education* be pleased to state:

(a) the list of Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas (JNVs) across the country as of 31st January 2025, State-wise;

(b) the number of JNVs sanctioned and made operational since 2014 in each State;

(c) whether Government is planning to set up new JNVs shortly; and

(d) the criterion for setting up of new JNVs?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION (SHRI JAYANT CHAUDHARY)

(a): As on date, a total of 689 Navodaya Vidyalayas (JNVs) have been sanctioned in the country. State/UT-wise details of these JNVs may be seen at the URL link - <u>https://navodaya.gov.in/nvs/en/Promotion-Notification/</u>.

(b): State/UT-wise number of Navodaya Vidyalayas sanctioned and made operational since 2014 is annexed.

(c) & (d): The Navodaya Vidyalaya Scheme envisages opening of one Navodaya Vidyalaya (NV) in each rural district of the country. Opening of new NVs is a continuous process, which depends on the willingness of the concerned State Government/UT administration to make available requisite suitable land, free of cost, for construction of the permanent building and making available required temporary building, free of rent, to run the Vidyalaya till the permanent building is constructed. Sanction and opening of new NVs depend on approval by the competent authority.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (b) OF RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3569 FOR 02.04.2025 RAISED BY SHRI SANDOSH KUMAR P, HON'BLE MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT REGARDING JAWAHAR NAVODAYA VIDYALAYA

State/UT-wise number of Navodaya Vidyalayas (

S.No.	States / UTs	NVs sanctioned	NVs made Operational
1	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	1	1
2	Arunachal Pradesh	10	1
3	Assam	6	1
4	Chhattisgarh	11	11
5	Delhi	7	3
6	Gujarat	8	11
7	Haryana	1	1
8	Jammu & Kashmir	5	5
9	Jharkhand	2	2
10	Karnataka	4	3
11	Madhya Pradesh	4	4
12	Maharashtra	2	1
13	Manipur	3	0
14	Meghalaya	4	4
15	Mizoram	0	1
16	Punjab	2	2
17	Rajasthan	1	2
18	Telangana	7	0
19	Tripura	4	4
20	Uttar Pradesh	5	8
21	West Bengal	4	1
Total		91*	66**

NVs) sanctioned and made operational since 2014

* Includes 28 new NVs sanctioned in December, 2024.

** Includes some NVs sanctioned prior to the year 2014.
