GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3212 ANSWERED ON 28/03/2025

MINIMUM WAGE RECEIVED BY AGRICULTURAL WORKERS

3212. DR. V. SIVADASAN:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of agricultural workers in the country, the details thereof since 2020, State- wise, year-wise;
- (b) the minimum wages received by agricultural workers in the country, State-wise; and
- (c) whether the Ministry has any plan to promulgate a pension scheme for agricultural workers in the country?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE (SHRI RAMNATH THAKUR)

(a): As per the latest available Census 2011 of the Office of the Registrar General and Census Commissioner of India, 263.14 million agricultural workers have been reported in the country. The state-wise details are given in **Annexure I.**

Since the Population Census is conducted after every ten years, the number of agricultural workers since 2020 are not known.

(b): Under the provisions of the Minimum Wages Act 1948, the Central Government and the State Governments, as appropriate Government, fix, review and revise the minimum wages of the employees employed in the Scheduled Employments under their respective jurisdictions. Accordingly, the area wise Rates of Minimum Wages for Agriculture in the Central Sphere (as on 01.10.2024) are as below:

Category of Agricultural worker	Rates of wages including V.D.A. per day (in Rupees)			
	'A'	'B'	'С'	
Unskilled	500	457	452	
Semi-Skilled/Unskilled Supervisory	546	502	462	
Skilled/Clerical	593	546	501	
Highly Skilled	656	611	546	

Source: M/o Labour & Employment

Further, the present classification of cities into areas A, B & C is given in Annexure II.

(c): The Pradhan Mantri Kisan Maan Dhan Yojana (PMKMY), a central sector scheme, is a voluntary and contributory pension scheme for the entry age group of 18 to 40 years with a provision of minimum monthly assured pension of Rs. 3000/- on attaining the age of 60 years, subject to exclusion criteria. The Scheme aims to create a social security net for the small and marginal farmers during their old age. The amount of the monthly contribution ranges between Rs.55 to Rs.200 per month depending upon the age of entry of the farmers into the Scheme. Govt. of India also provides matching contribution in the pension account of the farmers.

All Small and Marginal landholder farmers who own cultivable land upto 2 hectare as per land records of the concerned State/UT are eligible to register under the Scheme. The existing land- ownership system is being used for identification of beneficiaries' subject to certain exclusion criteria.

Further, The Pradhan Mantri Shram Yogi Maan-dhan (PM-SYM) scheme was launched in February, 2019 in order to provide old age protection to the workers of unorganised sector. This is a voluntary and contributory pension scheme. Under the scheme, a monthly minimum assured pension of Rs. 3000/- is provided to the unorganised workers after attaining the age of 60 years. The workers in the age group of 18-40 years whose monthly income is Rs. 15000/- or less and not a member of EPFO/ESIC/NPS (Govt. funded) and not an income tax payer are eligible to join the scheme. The monthly contribution by the beneficiary ranges from Rs. 55/- to Rs. 200/-depending upon the entry age of the beneficiary.

Annexure referred to in reply to part (a) of Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No. 3212 regarding "Minimum Wage received by Agricultural Workers" due for 28.03.2025

(In Millions)

S.No.	States/UTs	Cultivators	Agricultural Labourers	Total
5.No.	All India	118.81	144.33	263.14
1.	Andaman & Nicobar			
	Islands	0.02	0.00	0.02
2.	Andhra Pradesh	6.49	16.97	23.46
3.	Arunachal Pradesh	0.30	0.04	0.3 ⁴ 5.9
4.	Assam	4.06	1.85	
5.	Bihar	7.20	18.35	25.5
6.	Chandigarh	0.00	0.00	0.0
7.	Chhattisgarh	4.00	5.09	9.0
8.	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	0.03	0.02	0.0
9.	Daman & Diu	0.00	0.00	0.0
10.	Delhi	0.03	0 .04	0.0
11.	Goa	0.03	0.03	0.0
12.	Gujarat	5.45	6.84	12.29
	Haryana	2.48	1.53	4.0
	Himachal Pradesh	2.06	0.18	2.2
15.	Jammu & Kashmir	1.25	0.55	1.8
	Jharkhand	3.81	4.44	8.2
17.	Karnataka	6.58	7.16	13.7
	Kerala	0.67	1.32	1.9
19.	Lakshadweep	0.00	0.00	0.0
	Madhya Pradesh	9.84	12.19	22.0
	Maharashtra	12.57	13.49	26.0
	Manipur			
	(Excl. 3 Sub-Division)	0.57	0.11	0.6
23.	Meghalaya	0.49	0.20	0.6
	Mizoram	0.23	0.04	0.2
25.	Nagaland	0.54	0.06	0.6
	Odisha	4.10	6.74	10.8
	Puducherry	0.01	0.07	0.0
	Punjab	1.93	1.59	3.5
29.	Rajasthan	13.62	4.94	18.5
	Sikkim	0.12	0.03	0.1
31.	Tamil Nadu	4.25	9.61	13.8
32.	Tripura	0.30	0.35	0.6
33.	Uttar Pradesh	19.06	19.94	39.0
34.	Uttarakhand	1.58	0.40	1.9
	West Bengal	5.12	10.19	15.3

Source: Census of India, 2011.

Classification of Area

AREA- "A" Ahmedabad	(UA)	Hyderabad	(UA)	Faridabad complex	
Bangaluru	(UA)	Kanpur	(UA)	Ghaziabad	
Kolkata	(UA)	Lucknow	(UA)	Gurgaon	
Delhi	(UA)	Chennai	(UA)	Noida	
Greater Mumbai	` /		` /	Secunderabad	
	(UA)	Nagpur	(UA)	Secunderabad	
Navi Mumbai		Pune	(UA)		
AREA- "B"	(TIA)	Q 1'	(7.7.4.)	D + D1 *	(T.T.A.)
Agra	(UA)	Gwalior	(UA)	Port Blair	(UA)
Ajmer	(UA)	Hubli-Dharwad	(M. Corpn)	Puducherry	(UA)
Aligarh	(UA)	Indore	(UA)	Raipur	(UA)
Allahabad	(UA)	Jabalpur	(UA)	Raurkela	(UA)
Amravati	(M.Corpn)	Jaipur	(M.Corpn)	Rajkot	(UA)
Amritsar	(UA)	Jalandhar	(UA)	Ranchi	(UA)
Asansol	(UA)	Jalandhar-Cantt.	(UA)	Saharanpur	(M.Corpn)
Aurangabad	(UA)	Jammu	(UA)	Salem	(UA)
Bareilly	(UA)	Jamnagar	(UA)	Sangli	(UA)
Belgaum	(UA)	Jamshedpur	(UA)	Shillong	
Bhavnagar	(UA)	Jhansi	(UA)	Siliguri	(UA)
Bhiwandi	(UA)	Jodhpur	(UA)	Solapur	(M.Corpn)
Bhopal	(UA)	Kannur	(UA)	Srinagar	(UA)
Bhubaneshwar	(UA)	Kochi	(UA)	Surat	(UA)
Bikaner	(M.Corpn)	Kolhapur	(UA)	Thiruvanantapuram	(UA)
Bokaro Steel City	(UA)	Kollam	(UA)	Thrissur	(UA)
Chandigarh	(UA)	Kota	(M.Corpn)	Tiruchirappalli	(UA)
Coimbatore	(UA)	Kozhikode	(UA)	Tiruppur	(UA)
Cuttack	(UA)	Ludhiana	(M.Corpn)	Ujjain	(M.Corpn)
Dehradun	(UA)	Madurai	(UA)	Vadodara	(UA)
Dhanbad	(UA)	Malappuram	(UA)	Varanasi	(UA)
Durgapur	(UA)	Malegaon	(UA)	Vasai- Virar City	(M.Corpn)
Durg-Bhilai Nagar	(UA)	Mangalore	(UA)	Vijayawada	(UA)
Erode	(UA)	Meerut	(UA)	Vishakhapatnam	(M.Corpn)
Firozabad		Moradabad	(M. Corpn)	Warangal	(UA)
Goa		Mysore	(UA)	Gorakhpur	(UA)
NandedWaghala	(M. Corpn)	GreaterVisakhapatnam	(M.Corpn)	Nasik	(UA)
Gulbarga	(UA)	Nellore	(UA)	Guntur	(UA)
Panchkula	(UA)	Guwahati	(UA)	Patna	(UA)

NB: U.A. stands for Urban Agglomeration.