GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY RAJYA SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 305

ANSWERED ON 04/02/2025

PM SURYA GHAR: MUFT BIJLI YOJANA (PMSGMBY)

305. Shri Narayana Koragappa

Shri Narhari Amin

Shri Lahar Singh Siroya

Shri Subhash Barala

Smt. Darshana Singh

Shri Mithlesh Kumar

Shri Mayankbhai Jaydevbhai Nayak

Will the Minister of NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of rooftop solar installations done under the PM Surya Ghar Muft Bijli Yojana (PMSGMBY) till now;
- (b) the number of such installations across all States and in Karnataka, taluk-wise and district-wise;
- (c) the number of households receiving zero electricity bill as an impact of this scheme, Statewise;
- (d) the number of consumers who have received subsidies under the PMSGMBY scheme;
- (e) the average amount of subsidy received by each household; and
- (f) the average time taken in processing of subsidies?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND POWER

(SHRI SHRIPAD YESSO NAIK)

- (a) & (b) Under the PM Surya Ghar: Muft Bijli Yojana (PMSG: MBY), as on 27.01.2025, a total of 8.46 lakh households have been benefitted through installation of rooftop solar plants. The state/UT wise details are given at **Annexure I**. Out of these 8.46 lakh households, a total of 7,429 households are in state of Karnataka and the district wise detail is given at **Annexure II**.
- (c) Receiving zero electricity bill, in a particular month, on installation of rooftop solar plant depends on various factors such as solar capacity of the rooftop solar plant, solar power generated, self-consumption of electricity by the consumer who has installed the rooftop solar plant and regulations issued by the respective state electricity regulator. Therefore, the number of such households is not fixed and is dynamic in nature for every month. However, estimates suggest around 45% of households are receiving zero electricity bill.
- (d) to (f)Under the PMSG: MBY, as on 27.01.2025, a total of Rs 4308.66 crore have been released as Central Financial Assistance (CFA) to around 5.54 lakh residential consumers.

The average amount of CFA released to each of residential consumer under the scheme is around Rs 77,800.

Under PMSG: MBY, the entire process from application to CFA disbursal is online through the National Portal (www.pmsuryaghar.gov.in). With all credentials are entered correctly on the National Portal, the average time taken in processing the CFA is around 15 days after redemption request made by the consumer.

Annexure-I referred in reply to part (a) & (b) of Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No. 305 to be answered on 04/02/2025 regarding "PM Surya Ghar: Muft Bijli Yojana (PMSGMBY)"

Details of the state-wise Households benefitted under the scheme (as on 27.01.2025)

State	Households Benefited (Nos)
Andhra Pradesh	10,913
Arunachal Pradesh	-
Assam	5,811
Bihar	3,767
Chhattisgarh	1,692
Goa	525
Gujarat	3,51,273
Haryana	18,244
Himachal Pradesh	949
Jharkhand	152
Karnataka	7,429
Kerala	65,423
Madhya Pradesh	24,931
Maharashtra	1,92,936
Manipur	150
Meghalaya	16
Mizoram	77
Nagaland	7
Odisha	1,977
Punjab	4,517
Rajasthan	26,622
Sikkim	3
Tamil Nadu	25,427
Telangana	10,433
Tripura	115
Uttar Pradesh	73,602
Uttarakhand	14,261
West Bengal	370
Andaman & Nicobar Islands	3
Chandigarh	594
DNH and D&D	43
Jammu & Kashmir	1,045
Ladakh	255
Lakshadweep	206
NCT of Delhi	2,527
Puducherry	569
Total	8,46,864

Annexure-II referred in reply to part (a) & (b) of Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No. 305 to be answered on 04/02/2025 regarding "PM Surya Ghar: Muft Bijli Yojana (PMSGMBY)"

District-wise details of Households benefitted in Karnataka (As on 27.01.2025)

District	Households Benefited (Nos.)
Bagalkote	155
Ballari	98
Belagavi	259
Bengaluru Rural	188
Bengaluru Urban	3,552
Bidar	9
Chamarajanagara	17
Chikkaballapura	7
Chikkamagaluru	26
Chitradurga	50
Dakshina Kannada	708
Davangere	72
Dharwad	272
Gadag	36
Hassan	50
Haveri	53
Kalaburagi	81
Kodagu	45
Kolar	31
Koppal	24
Mandya	47
Mysuru	548
Raichur	39
Ramanagara	10
Shivamogga	268
Tumakuru	72
Udupi	373
Uttara Kannada	199
Vijayanagar	38
Vijayapura	94
Yadgir	8
Total	7,429