# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL EDUCATION & LITERACY

### RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2907 ANSWERED ON 26.03.2025

#### Navodaya Vidyalaya in Odisha

2907 Smt. Mamata Mohanta:

Will the Minister of Education be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of Novadaya Vidyalayas established in the State of Odisha;
- (b) the details of proposals received by Government for establishment of Navodaya Vidyalayas in Odisha, district-wise, details thereof;
- (c) whether Government has received such proposal for establishment of Navodaya Vidyalaya in Mayurbhanj during last three years; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

## MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION (SHRI JAYANT CHAUDHARY)

(a) to (d): The Navodaya Vidyalaya Scheme envisages opening of one Navodaya Vidyalaya (NV) in each district of the country. Opening of new Navodaya Vidyalayas (NVs) is a continuous process. Opening of new NV depends on the willingness of the concerned State Government/UT administration to make available requisite suitable land, free of cost, for construction of the permanent building and making available required temporary building, free of rent, to run the Vidyalaya till the permanent building is constructed. Sanction and opening of new NVs depend on approval by the competent authority. All the 30 districts of Odisha including Mayurbhanj have been covered under the scheme and there are 31 NVs functional in Odisha including one additional NV at Malkangiri (ST concentrated) district. The list of Navodaya Vidyalayas established in the State of Odisha is annexed.

\*\*\*\*

#### **ANNEXURE**

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) to (d) OF RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2907 FOR 26.03.2025 RAISED BY SMT. MAMATA MOHANTA, HON'BLE MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT REGARDING NAVODAYA VIDYALAYA IN ODISHA

S. No.	Navodaya Vidyalayas in Odisha
1	Angul
2	Balasore
3	Bargarh
4	Bhadrak
5	Bolangir
6	Boudh
7	Cuttack
8	Deogarh
9	Dhenkanal
10	Gajapati
11	Ganjam
12	Jagatsinghpur
13	Jajpur
14	Jharsuguda
15	Kalahandi
16	Kendrapara
17	Keonjhar
18	Khurda
19	Koraput
20	Malkangiri – I
21	Malkangiri – II (ST Concentrated)
22	Mayurbhanj
23	Nabarangpur
24	Nayagarh
25	Nuapada
26	Kandhamal
27	Puri
28	Rayagada
29	Sambalpur
30	Sonepur
31	Sundargarh

\* \* \* \* \*