GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY

RAJYA SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2865

ANSWERED ON 25.03.2025

PM-KUSUM ACHIEVEMENTS

2865. SHRI MADAN RATHORE

will the minister of NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY be pleased to state:

- (a) the manner in which the Ministry has contributed to the advancement and endorsement of sustainable and renewable solar farming across the country; and
- (b) the manner in which MNRE is contributing to the de-dieselization of agriculture and mitigating carbon emissions in the agricultural sector by renewable solar farming across the country?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND POWER (SHRI SHRIPAD YESSO NAIK)

- (a) & (b) PM-KUSUM Scheme was launched by the Government in March 2019 to enable the installation of standalone solar pumps, solarization of existing grid-connected agriculture pumps, and installation of solar power plants on farmer's land.
- The scheme has three Components:
- (i.) Component 'A': Setting up of 10,000 MW of Decentralized Ground/ Stilt Mounted Grid Connected Solar or other Renewable Energy based Power Plants by the farmers on their land;
- (ii) Component 'B': Installation of 14 lakh standalone off-grid solar water pumps; and
- (iii) Component 'C': Solarization of 35 lakh existing grid-connected agriculture pumps and through feeder level solarization (FLS).

The State/UT wise progress under PM KUSUM is placed at Annexure-I.

The scheme contributes to advancing sustainable development by deploying solar energy for agriculture. By replacing diesel and other unclean fuels for agricultural use, the scheme allows for mitigating carbon emissions in this sector.

Annexure-I referred to in reply to part (a) & (b) of Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No. 2865 for 25.03.2025

State/UT-wise progress under PM-KUSUM Scheme (as on 28.02.2025)

S. No.	State Name	Component-A (MW)		Component-B (Nos)		Component-C (Nos)		
		Sanctioned	Installed	Sanctioned	Installed	Sanctioned (IPS)	Sanctioned (FLS)	Installed (IPS+FLS)
1	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	0	0	34	0	436	0	0
2	Andhra Pradesh	0	0	0	0	0	100000	0
3	Arunachal Pradesh	0	0	700	434	0	0	0
4	Assam	2	0	4000	0	0	0	0
5	Bihar	0	0	0	0	0	70000	0
6	Chhattisgarh	30	4	0	0	0	0	0
7	Dadra and Nagar Haveli	0	0	0	0	0	0	0
8	Daman & Diu	0	0	0	0	0	0	0
9	Gujarat	0	0	18212	9349	0	725000	91976
10	Goa	50	0	900	100	0	11000	700
11	Haryana	158	6.65	197655	149717	0	12899	0
12	Himachal Pradesh	100	25.95	1270	785	0	0	0
13	Jammu & Kashmir	0	0	5000	2228	0	0	0
14	Jharkhand	0	0	42985	31509	0	0	0
15	Karnataka	0	0	41360	1895	0	766588	5066
16	Kerala	0	0	8	8	39448	25387	8999
17	Ladakh	0	0	1400	0	0	0	0
18	Madhya Pradesh	1790	48.63	59400	7325	0	445000	7417
19	Maharashtra	260	6	505000	336289	0	775000	113640
20	Manipur	0	0	1150	78	0	0	0
21	Meghalaya	0	0	3035	98	0	0	0
22	Mizoram	0	0	1700	40	0	0	0
23	Nagaland	0	0	265	65	0	0	0
24	Odisha	40	0	16441	5666	0	10000	0
25	Puducherry	0	0	0	0	0	0	0
26	Punjab	0	0	33000	12952	186	95000	0
27	Rajasthan	6550	338.75	162914	96731	6418	400000	20108
28	Tamil Nadu	14	1	5200	4187	5000	6000	0
29	Telangana	1000	0	0	0	28000	0	0
30	Tripura	5	0	10895	4072	3600	0	50
31	Uttar Pradesh	1	0	110948	61181	12000	129000	2000
32	Uttarakhand	0	0	5685	866	200	0	0
33	West Bengal	0	0	0	0	20	0	20
	Total	10,000	430.98	12,29,157	7,25,575	95,308	35,70,874	2,49,976