GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2502 ANSWERED ON 21.03.2025

INCLUSION OF CHEMBUR RAILWAY STATION UNDER AMRIT BHARAT STATION SCHEME

2502. SHRI CHANDRAKANT HANDORE:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether it is a fact that despite repeated demands, Government so far, has not included Chembur Railway Station under the Amrit Bharat Station Scheme (ABSS);
- (b) if so, the reasons therefor;
- (c) whether Government intends to include Chembur Railway Station in ABSS;
- (d) if so, the timeline by when the station will be included in the said scheme; and
- (e) if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, INFORMATION & BROADCASTING AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

(SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) to (e) Redevelopment work of Chembur railway station has been taken up which includes construction of new platform, extension of existing platform, provision of platform

shelters, construction of new foot over bridge, reconstruction of existing foot over bridge, provision of escalator, toilet blocks, improvement of circulating area, etc.

Further, development/upgradation/modernization of stations on Indian Railways is a continuous and ongoing process and works in this regard are undertaken as per requirement, subject to inter-se priority and availability of funds. However, priority for development/upgradation of stations is accorded to higher category of station over lower category of station while sanctioning and executing the works.

So far, 1337 stations have been identified for development under Amrit Bharat Station Scheme, out of which 132 stations are located in the state of Maharashtra. The names of stations identified for development under Amrit Bharat Station Scheme in the state of Maharashtra are as following:

State	No. of Amrit Stations	Names of Amrit Stations
Maharashtra	132	Ahmednagar, Ajni (Nagpur), Akalkot Road, Akola,
		Akurdi, Amalner, Amgaon, Amravati, Andheri,
		Aurangabad, Badnera, Balharshah, Bandra Terminus,
		Baramati, Belapur, Bhandara Road, Bhokar, Bhusawal,
		Borivali, Byculla, Chalisgaon, Chanda Fort,
		Chandrapur, Charni Road, Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj
		Terminus, Chinchpokli, Chinchwad, Dadar (DDR),
		Dadar (DR), Dahisar, Daund, Dehu Road, Devlali,
		Dhamangaon, Dharangaon, Dharmabad, Dhule, Diva,
		Dudhani, Gangakher, Godhani, Gondia, Grant Road,
		Hadapsar, Hatkanangale, Hazur Sahib Nanded,
		Himayatnagar, Hinganghat, Hingoli Deccan, Igatpuri,
		Itwari, Jalgaon, Jalna, Jeur, Jogeshwari, Kalyan,
		Kamptee, Kandivali, Kanjur Marg, Karad, Katol,
		Kedgaon, Kinwat, Kolhapur, Kopargaon, Kurduwadi,
		Kurla, Lasalgaon, Latur, Lokmanya Tilak Terminus,
		Lonand, Lonavla, Lower Parel, Malad, Malkapur,
		Manmad, Manwath Road, Marine Lines, Matunga,

Miraj, Mudkhed, Mumbai Central, Mumbra, Murtajapur, Nagarsol, Nagpur, Nandgaon, Nandura, Nandurbar, Narkher, Nasik Road, Osmanabad, Pachora, Palghar, Pandharpur, Panvel, Parbhani, Parel, Parli Vaijnath, Partur, Phaltan, Prabhadevi, Pulgaon, Pune Jn, Purna, Raver, Rotegaon, Sainagar Shirdi, Sandhurst Road, Sangli, Satara, Savda, Selu, Sewagram, Shahad, Shegaon, Shivaji Nagar Pune, Solapur, Talegaon, Thakurli, Thane, Titvala, Tumsar Road, Umri, Uruli, Vadala Road, Vidyavihar, Vikhroli, Wadsa, Wardha, Washim, Wathar

Development / upgradation of stations including under Amrit Bharat Station Scheme is generally funded under Plan Head-53 'Customer Amenities'. The details of allocation under Plan Head-53 are maintained Zonal Railway-wise and not work-wise or station-wise or State-wise/Region-wise. The state of Maharashtra is covered under four zones viz. Central Railway, South Central Railway, South Central Railway, South East Central Railway and Western Railway. For these zones, an allocation of Rs 3,854 Crores (Revised Estimate) has been made for the financial year 2024-25 under Plan Head-53.
