GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ROAD TRANSPORT AND HIGHWAYS **RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO-2169** ANSWERED ON-19/03/2025

CONSTITUTION AND MONITORING OF ROAD SAFETY COMMITTEES

2169. SHRI SHAKTISINH GOHIL:

Will the Minister of ROAD TRANSPORT AND HIGHWAYS be pleased to state :-

(a) the details and dates of constitution of the District Road Safety Committees as mandated by Section 215 of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988;

(b) whether Government has established Member of Parliament's Road Safety Committees in each parliamentary constituency, and its primary purpose;

(c) whether Government has monitored the functioning of both the District Road Safety Committees and the Member of Parliament's Road Safety Committees particularly in view of the direction dt 29.3.2022 of the Supreme Court Committee on road safety; and

(d) the steps taken by Government to implement a customized Management Information System to enhance the monitoring of both types of road safety committees?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF ROAD TRANSPORT AND HIGHWAYS

(SHRI NITIN JAIRAM GADKARI)

(a) Sub-section (3) of section 215 of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 provides for constitution of District Road Safety Committee (DRSC) by the State Government through a Notification in the Official Gazette, consisting of a Chairman and such other members as the State Government considers necessary and on such terms and conditions as the State Government may determine. The Supreme Court Committee on Road Safety (SCCoRS) observed that different States have different composition of DRSC. Therefore, to maintain a uniform structure of the DRSC in the country, SCCoRS directed for a uniform composition, terms of reference, functions, place and frequency of meeting etc. of DRSC vide its letter dated 29th March, 2022. Details of notifications of 20 States/UTs for constitution of DRSCs published after 29th March, 2022 is given at **Annexure**.

(b) To get the active support of Members of Parliament in the field of road safety, the Central Government has constituted a Committee; namely, Member of Parliament's Road Safety Committee (MPRSC) vide Gazette Notification No. RT-25043/03/2017-RS dated 19th December 2019. The Committee is chaired by the senior-most Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha) from the respective district. As per the notification, primary purpose/ functions of the Committee, inter-alia, includes monitoring of road safety activities in the district, monitoring of road accidents data, study causes of road accidents, review and monitor work related to black spots, ensuring road safety standards, etc.

(c) and (d) The Central Government in the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways has developed a portal for uploading of minutes of meetings of these Committees by State Authorities.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2169 ANSWERED ON 19.03.2025 ASKED BY SHRI SHAKTISINH GOHIL REGARDING CONSTITUTION AND MONITORING OF ROAD SAFETY COMMITTEES.

State-wise details of constitution of District Road Safety Committees after 29th March, 2022

Sl. No	State/UTs	Date of Notification
1	Assam	19.12.2022
2	Bihar	27.01.2023
3	Goa	19.05.2022
4	Gujarat	03.08.2022
5	Himachal Pradesh	11.07.2022
6	Jharkhand	17.06.2022
7	Maharashtra	05.12.2022
8	Mizoram	28.04.2023
9	Nagaland	06.10.2023
10	Odisha	07.05.2022
11	Rajasthan	05.07.2022
12	Sikkim	12.08.2022
15	Tamil Nadu	25.05.2022
16	Uttarakhand	11.05.2022
17	Uttar Pradesh	03.08.2022
18	Andaman & Nicobar	28.10.2022
19	Delhi	17.06.2022
20	Daman & Diu and Dadar & Nagar Haveli	02.02.2023
