GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF FINANCE DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC AFFAIRS

RAJYA SABHA UN-STARRED QUESTION NO. 1996 TO BE ANSWERED ON TUESDAY, THE 18th MARCH, 2025 PHALGUNA 27, 1946 (SAKA)

Devolution of taxes to States

1996. Shri Tiruchi Siva:

Will the Minister of FINANCE be pleased to state:

- (a) the actual percentage of vertical devolution to States since the Fifteenth Finance Commission was constituted, compared to the recommended 41 per cent level;
- (b) if the actual per cent was lower than recommended levels, the reasons therefor; and
- (c) the State-wise breakdown of the percentage of central tax devolution recommended by the Finance Commission versus the actual per cent and amount of proceeds transferred to each State, since the Fifteenth Finance Commission was constituted?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF FINANCE (SHRI PANKAJ CHAUDHARY)

(a to c): Based on the recommendations of the 15^{th} Finance Commission, the Union Government is devolving 41 per cent of the divisible pool of taxes to the States. Out of the same, the *inter-se* shares of States, as recommended by the 15^{th} Finance Commission *(FY 2021-22 to FY 2025-26)* is followed for determining the share of each State. Throughout the 15^{th} FC cycle, the percentage share of each State is the same. Details on percentage share of States along with the amount since FY 2021-22 is given below:

State	Share (%)	2021-22	2022-23	2023-24	2024-25
	(15 th FC				(till 10.3.2025)
	Final report)				
Andhra Pradesh	4.047	35385.83	38176.74	45710.74	52080.15
Arunachal Pradesh	1.757	14643.90	16689.17	19845.22	22610.55
Assam	3.128	28150.55	29694.26	35330.57	40253.77
Bihar	10.058	91352.62	95509.85	113604.49	129434.93
Chhattisgarh	3.407	28570.86	32358.26	38481.88	43844.17
Goa	0.386	3356.98	3665.19	4359.85	4967.38
Gujarat	3.478	31105.78	33034.00	39283.63	44757.99
Haryana	1.093	9722.16	10378.00	12345.35	14065.65
Himachal Pradesh	0.830	7349.04	7883.98	9374.72	10681.24
Jharkhand	3.307	27734.64	31404.12	37352.35	42557.30
Karnataka	3.647	33283.58	34596.18	41192.63	46932.72
Kerala	1.925	17820.09	18260.68	21742.92	24772.38
Madhya Pradesh	7.850	69541.50	74542.85	88665.34	101020.45
Maharashtra	6.317	54318.06	60000.98	71349.75	81292.84
Manipur	0.716	6009.65	6795.08	8087.14	9214.13
Meghalaya	0.767	6580.63	7286.14	8663.22	9870.40
Mizoram	0.500	4222.87	4745.25	5647.47	6434.44
Nagaland	0.569	4875.46	5400.19	6426.82	7322.37
Odisha	4.528	38144.79	42989.33	51143.68	58270.00
Punjab	1.807	15288.79	17163.65	20409.92	23254.04
Rajasthan	6.026	54030.61	57230.78	68063.21	77547.76
Sikkim	0.388	3353.69	3680.28	4382.44	4993.11
Tamil Nadu	4.079	37458.60	38731.24	46072.28	52491.88
Telangana	2.102	18720.54	19668.15	23742.04	27050.25
Tripura	0.708	6077.52	6724.23	7996.82	9111.14
Uttar Pradesh	17.939	160358.05	169745.30	202619.69	230854.62
Uttarakhand	1.118	9906.25	10617.01	12627.75	14387.36
West Bengal	7.523	65540.75	71434.93	84971.79	96812.42
TOTAL	100.00	882903.79	948405.82	1129493.71	1286885.44
