## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS

## RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 1878

ANSWERED ON 17/03/2025

#### **CNG PUMPS IN ODISHA**

1878 SHRI NIRANJAN BISHI: SMT. SULATA DEO:

Will the Minister of PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of CNG pumps that have been opened in the State of Odisha, district-wise;
- (b) the number of CNG pumps likely to be opened in the State, district-wise, in the comingyears;
- (c) whether CNG-operated vehicles have become more attractive to people in the State, and if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) the details of safety measures taken by CNG pumps in the State of Odisha to ensure safe operations?

#### **ANSWER**

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS

(SHRI SURESH GOPI)

- (a) & (b) Establishment of Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) stations is part of the development of City Gas Distribution (CGD) network and the same is carried out by the entities authorised by Petroleum and Natural Gas Regulatory Board (PNGRB). The authorised entities develop the CNG infrastructure in their respective Geographical Areas (GAs) as per their Minimum Work Plan (MWP) and techno-commercial feasibility. PNGRB has authorised 12 GAs covering entire state of Odishafor development of CGD network. As per MWP, authorised entities have committed to establish 247 CNG stations in the state of Odishaby 2031. As on 31.01.2025, the entities have established 129 CNG stations in the state of Odisha. GA-wise details of CNG stations in the state of Odishais at **Annexure**.
- (c) The number of CNG-operated vehicles in the State of Odisha has increased over the past few years. As per the VAHAN dashboard maintained by the Ministry of Road Transport & Highways, the number of CNG vehicles registered in Odisha was 1,270 in the financial year 2021-22, which increased to 3,148 in 2022-23, 4,935 in 2023-24, and 7,152 in 2024-25, so far.
- (d) To ensure safe operationsat CNG pumps including those in the State of Odisha, the CNG pump operators are mandated to adhere to the PNGRB (Technical Standards and Specifications including Safety Standards for dispensing of Automotive Fuels) Regulations, 2018 (T4S regulations). The technical standards and specifications provided in T4S regulations relate to layout, design, operating procedures, maintenance, inspection, safety equipment, electrical power distribution system, automation, competence assurance, emergency management plan, customer safety and awareness for retail outlets dispensing CNG. Regular inspection of the CNG facilities in this regard, provision of safety equipment and periodic training for staff handling CNG facility is alsocarried out.

\*\*\*\*

# ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) and (b) OF RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1878 TO BE ANSWERED ON 17.03.2025 REGARDING NUMBER OF CNG PUMPS IN ODISHA

### GA-wise details of CNG stations in the state of Odisha

Sl No.	Geographical Area/ CGD Networks	State / Union Territory	Authorized CGD Entity	Date of Authorization	Date of Target Completion	CNG Stations		
						MWP Target	Pro- Rata Target	Achiev ement
1.	Angul&Dhekanal Districts	Odisha	Bharat Petroleum	10-08-2018	31-Mar-30	21	6	12
			Corporation Limited	(New start date 01.01.2022)				
2.	Sundargarh&Jharsuguda	Odisha	GAIL Gas Limited	06-09-2018	31-Mar-30	20	6	9
	Districts			(New start date 01.01.2022)				
3.	Balasore,	Odisha	Adani Total Gas Limited	28-09-2018	31-Mar-30	20	6	11
	Bhadrak&Mayurbhanj Districts			(New start date 01.01.2022)				
4.	Bargarh,	Odisha	Bharat Petroleum	28-09-2018	31-Mar-30	11	4	24
٦.	Debagarh&Sambalpur Districts	Ouisiia	Corporation Limited	(New start date 01.01.2022)	31-Wai-30	11		24
5.	Ganjam, Nayagarh&Puri	Odisha	GAIL Gas Limited	06-09-2018	31-Mar-30	15	5	9
	Districts			(New start date 01.01.2022)				-
6.	Jagatsinghpur&Kendrapara	Odisha	Bharat Petroleum	26-09-2018	31-Mar-30	10	3	6
	Districts		Corporation Limited	(New start date 01.01.2022)				
7.	Jajpur&Kendujhar Districts	Odisha	Bharat Petroleum	26-09-2018	31-Mar-30	19	6	19
			Corporation Limited	(New start date 01.01.2022)				
8.	Koraput, Malkangiri, and	Odisha	Adani Total Gas Limited	09-03-2022	31-Dec-30	38	7	3
	Nabarangpur districts			(New Start date 01.01.2023)				
9.	Gajapati, Kandhamal, Boudh	Odisha	GAIL Gas Limited	28-Feb-22	31-Mar-30	30	9	3
	and Sonepur districts							
10.	Rayagada, Kalahandi, Bolangir	Odisha	Megha City Gas	15-03-2022	31-Dec-31	63	1	3
	and Nuapada districts		Distribution Private Limited	(New Start date 01.01.2024)				
11.	Khordha District	Odisha	GAIL (India) Limited	07-Mar-18	31-Mar-25	NA	NA	17
12.	Cuttack District	Odisha	GAIL (India) Limited	07-Mar-18	31-Mar-25	NA	NA	13
Total CNG stations authorized by PNGRB						247	53	129

Source: PNGRB