GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS, FOOD AND PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 1315 TO BE ANSWERED ON 11.03.2025

CONSUMER COURTS IN THE COUNTRY

1315. DR. M. THAMBIDURAI

Will the Minister of CONSUMER AFFAIRS, FOOD AND PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the consumer courts exist in all the States of the country;
- (b) if so, the details of the number and location of the consumer courts in the country, especially in the State of Tamil Nadu:
- (c) whether it is a fact that most of the citizens are unaware of their existence and the rights of the citizens to file complaints in the consumer courts; and
- (d) if so, the details of their rights and the manner in which the people are sensitized about the same?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE, CONSUMER AFFAIRS, FOOD AND PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION (SHRI B. L. VERMA)

(a) & (b): Department of Consumer Affairs is continuously working for consumer protection and empowerment of consumers by enactment of progressive legislations. With a view to modernize the framework governing the consumer protection in the new era of globalization, technologies, e-commerce markets etc. Consumer Protection Act, 1986 was repealed and Consumer Protection Act, 2019 was enacted.

The Consumer Protection Act, 2019 provides for a three tier quasi-judicial machinery at District, State and Central levels commonly known as "Consumer Commissions" for protection of the rights of consumers and to provide simple and speedy redressal of consumer disputes including those related with unfair trade practices. The Consumer Commissions are empowered to give relief of a specific nature and award compensation to consumers, wherever appropriate.

At present, there is one National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission at the national level and thirty five State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commissions at the state level. The number of District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commissions (State-wise) is at Annexure.

- (c) & (d): Under the provisions of Section 2 (9) of the Consumer Protection Act, 2019, the "consumer rights" includes:
 - (i) the right to be protected against the marketing of goods, products or services which are hazardous to life and property;
 - (ii) the right to be informed about the quality, quantity, potency, purity, standard and price of goods, products or services, as the case may be, so as to protect the consumer against unfair trade practices;
 - (iii) the right to be assured, wherever possible, access to a variety of goods, products or services at competitive prices;
 - (iv) the right to be heard and to be assured that consumer's interests will receive due consideration at appropriate fora:
 - (v) the right to seek redressal against unfair trade practice or restrictive trade practices or unscrupulous exploitation of consumers; and
 - (vi) the right to consumer awareness;

The Department of Consumer Affairs has been generating consumer awareness by undertaking country-wide multimedia awareness campaigns under the aegis of "Jago Grahak Jago" to reach out to every consumer across the country by utilizing traditional media like All India Radio, Doordarshan, fairs & festivals, etc. as well as social media. Through simple messages and jingles, consumers are made aware about the consumer rights, unfair trade practices, consumer issues and the mechanism to seek redressal. The Department has also been releasing grant-in-aid to States/UTs for generating consumer awareness at local level.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) & (b) OF THE RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1315 TO BE ANSWERED ON 11.03.2025 REGARDING CONSUMER COURTS IN THE COUNTRY.

Name of State/UT S. No. **No. of District Commissions** 1. A&N Island (UT) 1 2. Andhra Pradesh 17 3. Arunachal Pradesh 25 23 4. Assam 5. Bihar 38 Chandigarh (UT) 2 6. 7. Chhattisgarh 27 D&N Haveli and D&D (UT) 8. 1 Delhi (UT) 9. 10 10. Goa 2 Gujarat 43 11. 12. J&K (UT) 10 13. Kerala 14 14. Lakshadweep (UT) 1 15. Haryana 22 Himachal Pradesh 16. 12 17. Jharkhand 24 18. Karnataka 33 19. Madhya Pradesh 48 20. Maharashtra 40 21. Manipur 3 7 22. Meghalaya 23. Mizoram 11 24. Nagaland 11 25. Odisha 30 Puducherry (UT) 26. 1 27. Punjab 23 28. Rajasthan 37 29. Sikkim 6 30. Tamil Nadu 32 31. Telangana 12 32. Tripura 4 Uttarakhand 33. 13 34. Uttar Pradesh 79 35. West Bengal 23 685 **Total**
