GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION **RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO : 1138** (TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 10th March 2025)

NEW AIRPORTS IN ODISHA UNDER THE UDAN SCHEME

1138. DR. SASMIT PATRA SHRI MUZIBULLA KHAN

Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION be pleased to state:-

(a) the details of the number of airports in the State of Odisha under the UDAN (Ude Desh ka Aam Naagrik) scheme;

(b) the details of any new airports sanctioned or developed in the State of Odisha under the UDAN scheme; and

(c) the current status of these airports, including timelines for completion and expected commencement of operations?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION

(Shri Murlidhar Mohol)

(a) to (c) Under the Regional Connectivity Scheme-Ude Desh ka Aam Nagrik (RCS-UDAN), four (04) airports, namely, Jharsuguda, Rourkela, Utkela, and Jeypore have been operationalised. Additionally, the Rangeilunda, Amarda, and Rairangpur (Dandabose) airstrips in Odisha have been identified for development under UDAN scheme.

Development work at Rangeilunda is currently underway by the State Government. The development work at Amarda Airport and Rairangpur Airport owned by Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) and the State Government respectively is currently in planning stage.
