GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CHEMICALS AND FERTILIZERS DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICALS AND PETROCHEMICALS

RAJYA SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 830 ANSWERED ON 03/12/2024

SALE OF BANNED TOXIC PESTICIDES

830: Shri Sant Balbir Singh:

Will the Minister of CHEMICALS AND FERTILIZERS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the medicine called paraquat doctorate toto is banned by Government, If so, since when;
- (b) whether Government is aware that despite the ban, these toxic pesticides are sold under other names and the action taken against the sellers of these toxic pesticides during the last three years; and
- (c) the list of toxic pesticides in the country which have been completely banned by Government?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR CHEMICALS AND FERTILIZERS (SMT. ANUPRIYA PATEL)

- (a) Paraquat Dichloride is registered for use in India under Insecticides Act, 1968. Its usage is subject to adherence to label claims and guidelines prescribed during registration. These include specific restrictions and instructions to ensure safe application and minimize risks to humans, animals, and the environment. However, the medicine called paraquat doctorate toto is not included in the schedule of the Insecticide Act, 1968.
- (b) To check the manufacture and sale of low quality/misbranded/banned pesticides, there exist a mechanism for Quality Control of pesticides. Rule 9 of the Insecticides Rules, 1971 provides that no insecticide can be manufactured, stocked, sold or exhibited for sale without a license granted by the licensing officer

appointed by the State Governments after satisfying the availability of necessary plant and machinery, safety devices, first aid-facility, in the premises where the insecticides is proposed to be manufactured or sale or distribution.

Whenever, any pesticide is banned by the Central Government due to safety or efficacy issues or otherwise, the Certificate of Registration for that pesticide stands cancelled and consequently, State Licensing Authorities delete that particular pesticide from the manufacturing license of the firms. Further, to ensure that quality pesticides are available in the market, under section 21 of the Insecticide Act, 1968, 11080 officers of various State Governments and 207 Officers of Central Government are notified as Insecticide Inspectors that have been vested with powers to search premises, seize documents, stop distribution or sale of insecticides. These inspectors regularly conduct inspections of the manufacturing firms and dealers/retailers in the area of their jurisdiction to check the sale of any misbranded/unregistered/ banned pesticides and take insecticide samples for quality analysis. Samples analyses are carried out by Insecticide Analysts appointed by Central or State Governments. If any insecticide sample got failed in the testing, then, prosecution is launched against the manufacturer or dealer as per the provisions of Insecticide Act, 1968.

In last 5 years (2019-20 to 2023-24), total 360614 samples have been analysed; 9233 samples found to be misbranded and 2588 cases have been prosecuted against the firms who were found involved in the manufacture, sale and illegal import of sub-standard/low quality pesticides and in 185 cases the firmshave been convicted by the Hon'ble Court after finding guilty. However, Government has no specific information related to the sale of banned pesticides with other names.

Till date Government has banned Forty-Nine (49) insecticides/ pesticides/formulations to import, manufacture and use. Government has also notified five Pesticide/Pesticide formulations which are banned for use in the country but continued to manufacture for export under the Insecticides Act, 1968 and the Rules 1971. The list of pesticides banned in the country is enclosed at **Annexure-A.**

Annexure-A
The list of pesticides banned in the country

Pesticides banned for manufacture, import and use.		
1.	Alachlor	
2.	Aldicarb	
3.	Aldrin	

4.	Benzene Hexachloride
5.	Benomyl
6.	Calcium Cyanide
7.	Carbaryl
8.	Chlorbenzilate
9.	Chlordane
10.	Chlorofenvinphos
11.	Copper Acetoarsenite
12.	Diazinon
13.	Dibromochloropropane (DBCP)
14.	Dichlorovos
15.	Dieldrin
16.	Endosulfron
17.	Endrin
18.	Ethyl Mercury Chloride
19.	Ethyl Parathion
20.	Ethylene Dibromide (EDB)
21.	Fenarimol
22.	Fenthion
23.	Heptachlor
24.	Lindane (Gamma-HCH)
25.	Linuron
26.	Maleic Hydrazide
27.	Menazon
28.	Methoxy Ethyl Mercury Chloride
29.	Methyl Parathion
30.	Metoxuron
31.	Nitrofen
32.	Paraquat Dimethyl Sulphate
33.	Pentachloro Nitrobenzene (PCNB)
34.	Pentachlorophenol
35.	Phenyl Mercury Acetate Phorate
36.	
37.	Phosphamidon Sodium Cyanide (banned for Insecticidal purpose only)
38.	Sodium Methane Arsonate
39.	
40.	Tetradifon Thiometon
41.	
42.	Toxaphene(Camphechlor)
43.	Triazophos
44.	Trichloro acatic acid (TCA)
45.	Trichloro acetic acid (TCA) Trichlorfon
46.	Dicofol
47.	
48.	Dinocap

49.	Methomyl	
Pesticide banned for use but continued to manufacture for		
export		
1.	Captafol 80% Powder	
2.	Dichlorvos	
3.	Nicotin Sulfate	
4.	Phorate	
5.	Triazophos	
