GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AYUSH

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 802 ANSWERED ON 03rd DECEMBER, 2024

"Cluster centres for medicinal plants in Himachal Pradesh"

802. DR. SIKANDER KUMAR:

Will the Minister of Ayush be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government has received any proposal from State Government to establish more cluster centres for medicinal plants and herbs in Himachal Pradesh;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the funds allocated for the formation of infrastructure for creation of medicinal plants and herbs in Himachal Pradesh in the current year; and
- (d) whether Government has taken any steps to encourage the expansion of cultivation clusters for medicinal plants in the State?

ANSWER THE MINISTER OF AYUSH (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (SHRI PRATAPRAO JADHAV)

(a) & (b): No.

(c): The Government of India has not allocated funds for formation of infrastructure for creation of medicinal plants and herbs in Himachal Pradesh in the current year.

(d): Yes Sir, the Ministry of Ayush has taken following steps to encourage the expansion of cultivation clusters for medicinal plants in the State of Himachal Pradesh:

i) Under the "Central Sector Scheme on Conservation, Development and Sustainable Management of Medicinal Plants", financial assistance has been provided to NMPB's Regional Cum Facilitation Centre (Northern Region -1), Jogindernagar, Mandi, Himachal Pradesh for development of Quality Planting Material (QPM) of medicinal plants and its distribution to farmers for cultivation of medicinal plants.

- ii) Through NMPB's Regional Cum Facilitation Centre (Northern Region -1) trainings on Good Agricultural Practices (GAPs) imparted to farmers of medicinal plants.
- iii) Under erstwhile 'Medicinal Plants' component of "Centrally Sponsored Scheme of National Ayush Mission (NAM)" financial assistance has been provided to State Medicinal Plants Board (SMPB), Himachal Pradesh for promoting cultivation of priortized medicinal plants species in identified clusters of medicinal plants from financial year 2015-16 to 2019-20.