GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION Rajya Sabha UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. : 650 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 2nd December 2024

USE OF GREEN ENERGY AT AIRPORTS

650. DR. DHARMASTHALA VEERENDRA HEGGADE SHRI SANT BALBIR SINGH

Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION be pleased to state:-

(a) the steps taken by Government to install solar power plants at various locations/airports for generation and self-consumption of green and renewable energy to encourage green energy usage at the airports;

(b) the details of location/airports equipped with green energy usage since 2019;

(c) the initiatives for working towards Carbon Neutrality at airports in the country; and

(d) whether Mangalore, Bangalore and Hubli Airports in Karnataka are being made carbon neutral on priority and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

Minister of State in the Ministry of CIVIL AVIATION (Shri Murlidhar Mohol)

(a) to (d): Ministry of Civil Aviation has advised all the operational airports with scheduled operations and developers of the upcoming Greenfield Airports to work towards achieving Carbon Neutrality & Net Zero which inter-alia includes use of green energy.

MoCA has taken initiatives for working towards Carbon neutrality at airports in the country and organised knowledge sharing sessions to standardise Carbon Accounting and Reporting framework of Indian Airports as well as to create awareness on Climate Change mitigation. Further, airport operators with scheduled operations have been advised to map the carbon emission at their respective airports and to work towards carbon neutrality & net zero emissions in a phased manner.

The airport operators including Airports Authority of India (AAI) have installed solar power plants at various locations/Airports for generation and self-consumption of green and renewable energy to encourage green energy usage at the airports. In addition, few airports are also procuring green energy through open access. Other initiatives include adoption of building design as per Green building Standards, conversion of conventional vehicles to electric vehicles, energy efficient Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning (HVAC), lighting and baggage handling systems etc.

Optimum use of national airspace by fully implementing the concept of Flexible Use of Airspace (FUA) has also been suggested by Ministry of Civil Aviation under the Atma Nirbhar Bharat vision. This has led to cumulative savings of approximately Rs. 868.1 crore by all reporting airlines by way of significant savings in flight time & fuel usage and also cumulative reduction of more than 188538.5 tonnes in CO2 Emission since 01 Aug 2020.

Airports Economic Regulatory Authority of India (AERA) takes into consideration the Capital expenditure relating to Green Energy Projects, Carbon Neutrality etc. during the Tariff determination process of Major Airports.

Since 2014, a total of 80 airports have switched over to 100% green energy usage including Bengaluru and Hubli Airport. Airports viz. Delhi, Mumbai, Hyderabad and Bengaluru have achieved Level 4+ and higher Airports International Council (ACI) accreditation and have become Carbon neutral. List of these 80 airports is enclosed at Annexure.

* * * * * *

Statement referred in reply to Rajya Sabha USQ No. 650 for answer on 02.12.2024

S. No	Airport	Year of achieving 100% Green Energy Use
1	Cochin	2015
2	Nashik	2019
3	Tezu	2021
4	Kanpur (C)	2021
5	Kangra	2021
6	Shimla	2021
7	Kullu	2021
8	Jammu	2021
9	Srinagar	2021
10	Leh	2021
11	Imphal	2021
12	Pakyong	2021
13	Pantnagar	2021
14	Dehradun	2021
15	Dimapur	2021
16	Delhi	2022
17	Bengaluru	2022
18	Mumbai	2022
19	Hubballi	2022
20	Belagavi	2022
21	Mysuru	2022
22	Puducherry	2022
23	Jalgaon	2022
24	Kolhapur	2022
25	Pune	2022
26	Aurangabad	2022
27	Gondia	2022
28	Akola	2022
29	Sholapur	2022
30	Juhu	2022
31	Hyderabad	2023
32	Bhubaneswar	2023
33	Jharsuguda	2023

List of 80 Airports using 100% Green Energy

34	Bhopal	2023
35	Gwalior	2023
36	Jabalpur	2023
37	Khajuraho	2023
38	Indore	2023
39	Chennai	2023
40	Coimbatore	2023
41	Trichy	2023
42	Madurai	2023
43	Tuticorin	2023
44	Kolkata	2023
45	Hindon	2023
46	Gorakhpur	2023
47	Behala	2023
48	Begumpet	2023
49	Prayagraj	2023
50	Varanasi	2023
51	Bareilley	2023
52	Kushinagar	2023
53	Vadodara	2023
54	Bagdogra	2023
55	Cooch Behar	2023
56	Kanpur (Chk)	2023
57	Kandla	2023
58	Bhavnagar	2023
59	Jamnagar	2023
60	Bhuj	2023
61	Rajkot	2023
62	Porbandar	2023
63	Meerut	2023
64	Agra	2023
65	Vizag	2023
66	Vijayawada	2023
67	Rajamundhary	2023
68	Tirupati	2023
69	Keshod	2024
70	Calicut	2024
71	Moradabad	2024
72	Ayodhya	2024
73	Kadappa	2024
74	Adampur	2024
75	Pathankot	2024

76	Bathinda	2024
77	Goa	2024
78	Amritsar	2024
79	Ludhiana	2024
80	Raipur	2024
