GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF STEEL

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3029 FOR ANSWER ON 20/12/2024

MSMEs ESTABLISHED UNDER NATIONAL STEEL POLICY, 2017

3029. SHRI SANJAY SINGH:

Will the Minister of Steel be pleased to state:

(a) the number of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises (MSMEs) established under National Steel Policy (NSP), 2017 during the last five years and the number of such MSMEs set up in rural areas, State-wise;

(b) whether it is a fact that there has been a shortfall in resource allocation in some States to meet the goals of NSP, 2017, if so, the details thereof, State-wise; and

(c) whether Government has conducted any independent audit or assessment of the progress of MSMEs sector under NSP, 2017?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF STEEL

(SHRI BHUPATHIRAJU SRINIVASA VARMA)

(a)to(c): Steel is a deregulated sector and the Government acts as a facilitator by creating a conducive policy environment for the development of steel sector in the country, including MSME. The decision regarding setting up of a steel plant is taken by industry based on techno-commercial consideration including raw material availability, distance from port, logistics etc. Details of the number of steel units (including MSME units) established during the last five years, state-wise, is given in **Annexure**. Current status of the sector vis-à-vis projections in National Steel Policy (NSP), 2017 is given as under: -

Projections of National Steel Policy(NSP), 2017 and Current Status

			(in million tonnes)
Sr. No.	Parameter	Projections for the year (2030 – 31) under NSP, 2017	Current Status (FY 2023-2024)
i.	Total crude steel capacity	300	179.51
ii.	Total crude steel demand/production	255	144.04
iii.	Total finished steel demand/production	230	138.82
iv.	Per Capita Finished Steel Consumption (in kg)	158	97.70

Annexure

Number of steel units (including MSME units) established during the last five years

STATE	NO. OF UNITS		
ANDHRA PRADESH	8		
ASSAM	8		
CHHATTISGARH	33		
DNHDD	1		
GOA	1		
GUJARAT	68		
HARYANA	13		
HIMACHAL PRADESH	7		
JHARKHAND	4		
KARNATAKA	1		
KERALA	1		
MADHYA PRADESH	12		
MAHARASHTRA	22		
MEGHALAYA	1		
ODISHA	8		
PUNJAB	32		
RAJASTHAN	8		
TAMIL NADU	23		
TELANGANA	7		
TRIPURA	1		
UTTAR PRADESH	16		
UTTARAKHAND	9		
WEST BENGAL	21		
TOTAL	305		
Source: Joint Plant Committee			
