GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2985 ANSWERED ON 20.12.2024

CRITERIA OF IDENTIFYING STATIONS UNDER ABSS

2985. SHRI MOHAMMED NADIMUL HAQUE:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) the details of the Amrit Bharat Station Scheme (ABSS) and the criteria used to identify the 1309 stations selected for development under this scheme;

(b) whether Government has considered including railway stations in backward and remote areas that are not covered under any redevelopment scheme, if so, the steps being taken in this regard; and

(c) the timeline for completing the redevelopment of all identified stations including those in remote and backward areas?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, INFORMATION & BROADCASTING AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

(SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) to (c) Ministry of Railways has launched 'Amrit Bharat Station Scheme' for development of Railway stations on Indian Railways. This scheme envisages development of stations on a continuous basis with a long-term approach.

It involves preparation of Master Plans and their implementation in phases to improve the amenities at the stations like improvement of station access, circulating areas, waiting halls, toilets, lift/escalators as necessary, platform surfacing and cover over platform, cleanliness, free Wi-Fi, kiosks for local products through schemes like 'One Station One Product', better passenger information systems, Executive Lounges, nominated spaces for business meetings, landscaping, etc. keeping in view the necessity at each station.

The scheme also envisages improvement of building, integrating the station with both sides of the city, multimodal integration, amenities for Divyangjans, sustainable and environment friendly solutions, provision of ballastless tracks, etc. as per necessity, phasing and feasibility and creation of city centre at the station in the long term.

Stations are selected under this scheme based on the proposals received from Zonal Railways, stations located in major cities and places of tourist and pilgrimage importance. The scheme has a very good spread across various parts of the country. So far, 1337 stations have been identified for development under this scheme over Indian Railways which also include 157 stations falling in the Aspirational Districts. The names of stations identified for development under Amrit Bharat Station Scheme which are located in the Aspirational Districts are as following:

Name of the Amrit Stations located in Aspirational Districts

Abu Road, Anugraha Narayan Road, Araku, Arariaya Court, Bahraich, Balangir, Balrampur, Balsiring, Banka, Banmankhi, Bano, Baragamda Jn, Baran, Barauni, Bargawan, Barhni, Barkakana, Barsoi Jn, Basukinath, Begusarai, Bhadrachalam Road, Bhanupratappur, Bhawanipatna, Biyavra Rajgarh, Bokaro Steel City, Chaibasa, Chakradharpur, Chandauli Majhwar, Chandrapura, Chhabra Gugor, Chitrakut Dham Karwi, Chopan, Cuddapah, Dahod, Daltonganj, Damanjodi, Damoh, Dangoposi, Dhenkanal, Dholi, Dholpur, Dhubri, Dumka, Fatehpur, Firozpur Cantt, Gangaghat, Ganjbasoda, Garhwa Road, Garhwa Town, Gauripur, Gaya, Ghatsila, Giridih, Godda, Govindpur Road, Guna, Gunupur, Guraru, Haidar Nagar, Haridwar Jn, Harishanker Road, Harpalpur, Hatia, Hazaribagh Road, Hindaun City, Jagdalpur, Jaisalmer, Jamui, Janakpur Road, Japla, Jeypore, Kantabanji, Karhagola Road, Kashipur Jn, Katihar Jn, Kesinga, Khagaria Jn, Khajuraho Jn, Khandwa, Khariar Road, Kichha, Koraput Jn, Korba, Labha, Lakhminia, Latehar, Limkheda, Lohardaga, Mahasamund, Maheshkhunt, Majbat, Manikpur Jn, Manoharpur, Mansi Jn, MCS Chhatarpur, Meramandali, Moga, Motipur, Muhammad Ganj, Muniguda, Muri Jn, Muzaffarpur Jn, Nabinagar Road, Nagar Untari, Namkom, Nandurbar, Nawadah, Orga, Osmanabad, Paharpur, Pakur, Paramakkudi, Parasnath, Parlakhemundi, Parvatipuram, Pathshala, Pindwara, Piska, Pt. Deen Dayal Upadhyay Jn, Rafiganj, Raichur Jn, Rajapalayam, Rajmahal, Ram Dayalu Nagar, Ramanathapuram, Ramdevra, Rameswaram, Ramgarh Cantt, Ranchi Jn, Rayagada, Renukoot, Roorkee, Ruthiyai, Sahibganj, Sahibpur Kamal, Salauna, Salmari, Shri Mahaveerji, Siddharth Nagar, Silli, Simultala, Singrauli, Sitamarhi, Sonbhadra, Srivilliputtur, Tangla, Tatanagar, Tatisilwai, Titlagarh Jn, Tulsipur, Udalguri, Vidisha, Virudhunagar, Vyasnagar, Wadsa, Washim, Yadgir

Further, upgradation/development/redevelopment of stations on Indian Railways is a continuous and ongoing process and works in this regard are undertaken as per requirement, subject to inter-se priority and availability of funds. However, priority for upgradation/development/redevelopment of stations is accorded to higher category of station over lower category of station while sanctioning and executing the works.

Development/redevelopment/upgradation of Railway Stations is complex in nature involving safety of passengers & trains and requires various statutory clearances such as fire clearance, heritage, tree cutting, air-port clearance, etc. The progress also gets affected due to brownfield related challenges such as shifting of utilities (involving water/sewage lines, optical fibre cables, gas pipe lines, power/signal cables etc.), infringements, operation of trains without hindering passenger movement, speed restrictions due to works carried out in close proximity of tracks and high voltage power lines, etc. and these factors affect the completion time. Therefore, no time frame can be indicated at this stage.
