GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS (DEPARTMENT OF SPORTS)

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. - 2879 ANSWERED ON 19/12/2024

National Centre of Excellence in the country

2879 Shri M. Mohamed Abdulla:

Will the Minister of YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of Sports Authority of India-National Centre of Excellence in the country, Statewise, including Tamil Nadu;
- (b) whether there is any proposal from the State Government of Tamil Nadu to open a National Centre of Excellence in the State or specifically in Chennai;
- (c) if so, the details and the status of the same; and
- (d) the total funding allocated by the Central Government for the development of the National Centre of Excellence, and the manner in which it is distributed across different States, including Tamil Nadu?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS (DR. MANSUKH MANDAVIYA)

- (a): A total of 24 National Centres of Excellence (NCoEs) have been established across the country by the Sports Authority of India (SAI), an autonomous organisation under Government of India. The details of the SAI NCoEs across the country are at Annexure. There is no NCoE in the state of Tamil Nadu. However, there are three SAI Training Centre (STC) at Chennai, Salem and Mayiladuthurai.
- (b) and (c): No Sir, there is no such proposal.
- (d): Funds are not allocated directly to States. However, the total funds allocated by the Government to SAI which are further released to the SAI Regional Centres, including NCoEs are as under:

Financial Year	Budget allocation
2023-24	795.77 crore
2024-25	822.60 crore

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) OF RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2879 FOR 19/12/2024 ASKED BY SHRI M. MOHAMED ABDULLA REGARDING "NATIONAL CENTRE OF EXCELLENCE IN THE COUNTRY"

DETAILS OF SAI NATIONAL CENTRES OF EXCELLENCE (NCOEs)

S. No.	Centre Name
1	Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh
2	Bangaluru, Karnataka
3	Kolkata, West Bengal
4	Cooch Behar, West Bengal
5	Jagatpur, Odisha
6	LNCPE Trivandrum, Kerala
7	Alleppey, Kerala
8	Guwahati, Assam
9	Itanagar, Arunachal Pradesh
10	Sonepat, Haryana
11	Rohtak, Haryana
12	Zirakpur, Chandigarh (UT)
13	Dharamshala, Himachal Pradesh
14	Hamirpur, Himachal Pradesh
15	Imphal, Manipur
16	Gandhinagar, Gujarat
17	NSNIS Patiala, Punjab
18	Kandivali, Mumbai, Maharashtra
19	Aurangabad, Maharashtra
20	Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh
21	I.G. Stadium, Delhi (UT)
22	MDCN Stadium, Delhi (UT)
23	Dr. SPMSPC, Delhi (UT)
24	Dr. KSSR, Delhi (UT)
