## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT

## RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2217 TO BE ANSWERED ON 13/12/2024

#### FEATURES AND IMPLEMENTATION OF SELF HELP GROUPS

#### 2217 DR. DHARMASTHALA VEERENDRA HEGGADE:

Will the Minister of RURAL DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the main features of Self Help Groups (SHGs) Scheme alongwith present status of itsimplementation in the country;
- (b) the details of SHGs in Karnataka including Dakshina Kannada district, district-wise, village-wise;
- (c) the details of funds granted, allocated, released and utilised under DeendayalAntyodaya Yojana-National Rural Livelihood Mission (DAY-NRLM) since 2019 till date,State/UT-wise:
- (d) the details of beneficiaries including women and persons belonging to SCs and STs whohave been benefited under the scheme in Karnataka, district-wise; and
- (e) the States in which transaction based monitoring system has been introduced forevaluating work done by SHGs?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (DR. CHANDRA SEKHAR PEMMASANI)

(a): Deendayal Antyodaya Yojana – National Rural Livelihoods Mission (DAY – NRLM) is implemented across the country (except Delhi & Chandigarh) with the objective of organizing the rural poor women into Self Help Groups (SHGs) and continuously nurturing and supporting them till they attain appreciable increase in incomes over a period of time and improve their quality of life and come out of abject poverty. The Mission seeks to achieve its objective through investing in four key features viz., (a) social mobilization and promotion and strengthening of self-managed and financially sustainable community institutions of the rural poor; (b) financial inclusion of the rural poor; (c) sustainable livelihoods; and (d) social inclusion, social development and convergence.

As on October 2024, the Mission is implemented in 7138 blocks in 742 districts across 28 States and 6 UTs. Cumulatively, 10.05 crore women have been mobilized into 90.87 lakh SHGs. A total amount of Capitalisation Support (Revolving Funds and Community Investment Funds) is Rs. 47,685.12 crore, and total loan disbursed is Rs. 9,60,772.49 crore, under DAY-NRLM till Oct. 2024.

(b) to (d): A total of 3,60,684 Self Help Groups (SHGs) have been mobilised in Karnataka under Deendayal Antyodaya Yojana–National Rural Livelihoods Mission (DAY-NRLM) and 9,115 SHGs have been mobilised in Dakshina Kannada District of Karnataka, till October 2024, district-wise information is given at Annexure-I. Details on progress of DAY-NRLM including village-wise information on SHGs mobilised in Karnataka under DAY-NRLM are available on the portal at https://nrlm.gov.in.

The State/UT-wise details on Central allocation, Central releases and expenditure under NRLM from the year 2019-20 are provided at Annexure -II.

The district-wise details of beneficiaries including women and persons belonging to Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes, who have been benefitted under DAY-NRLM in the State of Karnataka, are given at Annexure-I.

(e): The names of the States in which transaction based monitoring system has been introduced for evaluating the work done by SHGs are given below:

Andhra	Himachal	Maharashtra	Uttar Pradesh	Ladakh	Mizoram
Pradesh	Pradesh				
Bihar	Jammu & Kashmir	Odisha	Uttarakhand	Puducherry	Nagaland
Chhattisgarh	Jharkhand	Punjab	West Bengal	Arunachal Pradesh	Sikkim
Goa	Karnataka	Rajasthan	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	Assam	Tripura
Gujarat	Kerala	Tamil Nadu	Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli	Manipur	
Haryana	Madhya Pradesh	Telangana	Lakshadweep	Meghalaya	

\*\*\*\*

# Annexure-I referred in reply to part (b) to (d) of Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No. 2217 to be answered on 13.12.2024 regarding "Features and implementation of Self Help Groups"

SN	Districts in Karnataka	SHG	Members	SC	ST
211	Districts in Karnataka	SHG	Members	Members	Members
1	BAGALKOT	11129	124022	16554	6532
2	BALLARI	6699	75371	13539	14238
3	BELAGAVI	28184	309893	31660	15099
4	BENGALURU	4414	76208	13976	1652
5	BENGALURU RURAL	5961	85486	14204	3834
6	BIDAR	12077	137749	19594	12587
7	CHAMARAJA NAGARA	10587	128915	24956	10729
8	CHIKKABALLAPURA	11204	124173	25481	15227
9	CHIKKAMAGALURU	10052	115013	18046	4190
10	CHITRADURGA	17594	217058	31651	23937
11	DAKSHINA KANNADA	9115	105252	5718	5000
12	DAVANAGERE	10711	155249	19609	13888
13	DHARWAR	8898	96912	5451	4269
14	GADAG	9617	98372	10871	4816
15	HASSAN	15038	194190	21441	2622
16	HAVERI	15919	168507	15094	11950
17	KALABURAGI	12345	137017	30993	3705
18	KODAGU	3819	48132	4355	2317
19	KOLAR	12690	128642	30125	7523
20	KOPPAL	11946	118422	14755	9345
21	MANDYA	14869	207322	16076	1912
22	MYSURU	16718	212740	25939	17791
23	RAICHUR	10983	114113	19626	18037
24	RAMANAGARA	7421	103432	12922	1490
25	SHIVAMOGGA	15354	169700	23510	6113
26	TUMAKURU	21733	243195	27453	13219
27	UDUPI	10621	110903	5807	5480
28	UTTARA KANNADA	12292	139822	8812	3601
29	VIJAYANAGARA	8613	101963	15866	14118
30	VIJAYAPURA	7964	90837	14192	1643
31	YADGIR	6117	68764	12839	6992
	Total:	360684	4207374	551115	263856

		NRLM (in Rs. Crores)			
SL No	State/UT s	Central Allocation	Central Releases	Expenditure*	
1	Andhra Pradesh	1190.70	822.74	1323.63	
2	Bihar	5368.98	5643.42	8460.58	
3	Chhattisgarh	1192.48	1063.56	1602.93	
	Goa	35.50	29.00	47.58	
5	Gujarat	807.83	709.12	1051.56	
6	Haryana	428.15	210.48	336.92	
7	Himachal Pradesh	210.49	191.09	207.23	
8	Jammu & Kashmir	581.18	556.12	603.04	
9	Jharkhand	2024.42	1904.09	3001.73	
10	Karnataka	1622.84	1266.56	2172.83	
11	Kerala	691.62	494.52	782.25	
12	Madhya Pradesh	2311.46	1703.48	2500.72	
	Maharashtra	2982.89	2497.71	3964.11	
14	Odisha	2704.81	2608.45	3967.52	
15	Punjab	219.68	158.58	247.58	
16	Rajasthan	1294.12	1204.35	1940.23	
17	Tamil Nadu	1995.61	1687.68	2924.44	
18	Telangana	805.56	251.20	463.27	
19	Uttar Pradesh	7727.62	5813.39	9227.58	
20	Uttarakhand	405.38	430.37	456.19	
21	West Bengal	2731.67	2564.36	3771.10	
22	A&N Islands	31.50	21.75	19.74	
23	Daman & Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli	23.00	11.75	9.27	
24	Lakshadweep	13.89	3.69	9.71	
25	Ladakh	33.99	23.77	12.18	
26	Puducherry	72.00	52.33	52.38	
27	Arunachal Pradesh	513.01	392.28	422.20	
28	Assam	1954.35	1928.14	1992.22	
29	Manipur	505.45	199.58	196.28	
30	Meghalaya	800.58	734.89	683.82	
31	Mizoram	578.89	252.86	291.73	
32	Nagaland	755.49	446.68	461.4	
33	Sikkim	259.09	76.42	76.33	
34	Tripura	1205.11	843.93	986.29	
	Total	44079.34	36798.36	54266.69	

<sup>\*</sup>Note- Expenditure reported by States/UTs is against the total available funds including Central Share, State Share and carry forward balances