#### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL EDUCATION AND LITERACY

# **RAJYA SABHA**

# UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 181 ANSWERED ON 27.11.2024

# ONE KENDRIYA VIDYALAYA IN EACH DISTRICT

# 181 SHRI C. Ve. SHANMUGAM:

Will the Minister of *Education* be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of Kendriya Vidyalayas (KVs) opened during the last five years and proposed to be opened, State-wise especially in Tamil Nadu and the time by which the proposed KVs are likely to be started;
- (b) whether Government has any proposal to open one KV in each district of the country; and
- (c) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

# ANSWER

# MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION (SHRI JAYANT CHAUDHARY)

(a) to (c) As per information received from Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan (KVS), 47 Kendriya Vidyalayas (KVs) under Civil / Defence Sector (including 01 KV in the State of Tamil Nadu) and 10 KVs under Institute of Higher Learning (IHL) / Project Sector, have been opened and made operational during the last five years (i.e. 2019-20, 2020-21, 2021-22, 2022-23 and 2023-24) across the country. State/UT-wise details are annexed.

At present, 1253 KVs including 45 KVs in the State of Tamil Nadu are functioning across the country. Opening of new KVs is a continuous process. KVs are opened primarily to cater to the educational needs of the wards of transferable Central Government Employees including Defence & Para-military personnel, Central Autonomous Bodies, Central Public Sector Undertakings (PSUs) and Central Institute of Higher Learning (IHL) by providing a common programme of education throughout the country. Proposals for opening of new KVs may be sponsored by Ministries or Departments of the Government of India / State Governments / Union Territories (UTs) Administrations, with commitment to provide requisite resources including land and temporary accommodation for setting up a new KV as per norms. The proposals are subject to approval of the competent authority as per extant procedure. KVs are not opened on the criteria of State/UT/ District/Parliamentary Constituency.

\*\*\*\*\*

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (c) OF THE RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 181 RAISED BY SHRI C. Ve. SHANMUGAM, HON'BLE MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT ANSWERED ON 27.11.2024 REGARDING "ONE KENDRIYA VIDYALAYA IN EACH DISTRICT".

STATE/UT WISE DETAILS OF KENDRIYA VIDYALAYAS	
OPENED DURING THE LAST FIVE YEARS	

Year	State/UT	S. No.	Name of KV
	KVs	s opened	under the Civil/Defence Sector
	Uttar Pradesh	1.	Bhadohi, Distt. Bhadohi
		2.	Mirzapur, Distt. Mirzapur
		3.	Kauhar Gauriganj, Distt. Amethi
		4.	Aayer, Distt. Varanasi
		5.	Railway Idgah, Distt. Agra
		6.	39 <sup>th</sup> Bn SSB Gadnia Palia Kalan, Distt. Lakhimpur Khiri
		7.	59th Bn. SSB Nanpara, Distt. Behraich
	Uttarakhand	8.	Khatima, Distt. Udham Singh Nagar
	Chhattisgarh	9.	GC CRPF Bilaspur, Distt. Bilaspur
		10.	Kondagaon, Distt. Kondagaon
	Jammu & Kashmir	11.	Jodhpur, Distt. Doda
	Odiaha	12.	Gunupur, Distt. Rayagada
	Odisha	13.	Anandpur, Distt. Keonjhar
	Assam	14.	210 Cobra, CRPF BN Dalgaon
		15.	N.F. Railway Rangapara, Distt. Sonitpur
	Haryana	16.	GC CRPF, Sonepat
2019-20		17.	CRPF Kadarpur, Gurgaon
2010 20	Andhra Pradesh	18.	Kandukur Town, Distt. Prakasam
		19.	Irlapadu Village, Nadendla, Distt. Guntur
	Madhya Pradesh	20.	Anuppur, Distt. Anuppur
		21.	Shamgarh, Distt. Mandsaur
		22.	Agar-Malwa, Distt. Agar-Malwa
		23.	Alirajpur, Distt. Alirajpur
		24.	CRPF Group Centre AB Road, Nayagaon, Gwalior
	Arunachal	25.	Daporijo, Distt. Upper Subansiri
	Pradesh	26.	Namsai, Distt. Namsai
	Jharkhand	27.	Koderma, Distt. Koderma
	JHAIKHAHU	28.	Sarai Kelakharsawan, Distt. Saraikela
	Rajasthan	29.	Railway Colony Bandikui, Distt. Dausa
		30.	Pratapgarh, Distt. Pratapgarh
	TAMIL NADU	31.	UDUMALPET, DISTT. TIRUPPUR
	West Bengal	32.	N.F.R. New Jalpaiguri, Distt. Jalpaiguri
		33.	GC CRPF Siliguri, Distt. Darjeeling
	Karnataka	34.	Railway Yashwanthpur, Distt. Bengaluru

2020-21	Jharkhand	35.	SER Dangoaposi, Distt West Singhbhum				
		36.	Palamu, Distt. Palamu				
	Uttarakhand	37.	5 <sup>th</sup> Bn. SSB Champawat, Distt. Champawat				
	Uttar Pradesh	38.	Madhupuri, Distt. Fatehpur				
		39.	Sumerpur, Distt. Hamirpur				
	Tamilnadu	40.	ITBP, Idiyapatti, Distt. Madurai				
		41.	ITBP Illuppaikudi Shivgangai, Distt. Shivgangai				
	Arunachal Pradesh	42.	KV Hayuliang, Distt. Anjaw				
	Odisha	43.	Chhatarpur, Distt. Ganjam				
2021-22	Karnataka	44.	Sadalgah, Distt, Belagavi				
2021-22	Haryana	45.	Bilaspur, District Yamuna Nagar				
2022-23	Tripura	46.	BSF Gokulnagar, Distt-Sepahaijala				
	Himachal Pradesh	47.	Dharampur, Distt. Mandi				
	KVs opened under Project/Institute of Higher Learning						
	Delhi	48.	Dr. Rajendra Prasad Kendriya Vidyalaya, President Estate, New Delhi. (Special Mode)				
2019-20	Bihar	49.	IIT Patna (Bihta), Distt. Patna				
2020-21	Madhya Pradesh	50.	IIT Indore				
2021-22	Punjab	51.	IIT Ropar, Distt. Roopnagar				
		52.	IIT Bhubaneswar, Distt Khordha				
2022-23	Odisha	53.	MCL Subhadra Area, Distt- Angul				
		54.	MCL Jagannath Area, Distt- Angul				
	Gujarat	55.	Deen Dayal Port Authority Gandhi Dham				
	Arunachal Pradesh	56.	NIT Arunachal Pradesh, Jote Distt. Papum Pare				
2023-24	Punjab	57.	Central University of Punjab, Ghudda, Distt Bhatinda				

\*\*\*\*\*