# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

## RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1796

#### ANSWERED ON 11.12.2024

### Universities/Institutes established by the Central Government

#### 1796 Shri Sandeep Kumar Pathak:

Will the Minister of **Education** be pleased to state:

- (a) State-wise/UT-wise names of Universities and Technical Institutes like NITs, IITs
   & IIMs established by the Central Government between 2014-19 and 2019-2024;
- (b) the new Universities/Institutes which do not have their own land, own building/ infrastructure and hostel facilities for students respectively and by when they will have these facilities, the details thereof; and
- (c) the list of University/Technical Institute-wise number of sanctioned and actual functioning departments/ centers, sanctioned and actual number of teachingstaff, sanctioned and actual number of non teaching-staff, total capacity of student intake and actual students enrolled, in all the Central Government run Universities/ Technical Institutes and funds received by each of them between 2014-19 and 2019-24?

#### ANSWER

# MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION (DR. SUKANTA MAJUMDAR)

(a): Several Universities and Technical Institutes have been established by the Central Government between 2014-2019 and 2019-2024. Some of these are NIT Tadepalligudem, IIT Tirupati, IIM Visakhapatnam, IISER Tirupati, Central University of Andhra Pradesh, Central Tribal University of Andhra Pradesh, IIIT Kurnool in Andhra Pradesh; IIM Bodhgaya, Mahatma Gandhi Central University in Bihar; IIT Bhilai in Chhattisgarh; IIT in Goa; IIIT Surat in

Gujarat; IIM Sirmaur in Himachal Pradesh; IIT Jammu, IIM Jammu in Jammu & Kashmir; IIIT Ranchi in Jharkhand; IIT Dharwad, IIIT Raichur in Karnataka; IIT Palakkad in Kerela; Sindhu Central University in Ladakh; IIM Nagpur, IIIT Nagpur in Maharashtra; IIM Sambalpur, IISER Behrampur in Odisha; IIM Amristar in Punjab; Sammakka Sarrakka Central Tribal University in Telangana.

(b) to (c): Development of necessary infrastructure for the new educational institutions depends on various parameters such as identification of suitable land, site inspection, obtaining regulatory clearances, finalization of designs, obtaining statutory approvals, continuous availability of labour, remoteness/accessibility of site, etc. Currently, most of the Centrally-funded higher education institutions established during 2014-19 and 2019-24 are operational and are functioning in their permanent campus. Further, the sanctioned and actual functioning departments/centres in these newly established higher education institutions dynamic; are new departments/centres are added and outdated ones are closed based on continuous evaluation. Similarly, the sanctioned and actual number of teaching and non-teaching staff also varies from time to time depending on the requirement vis-à-vis the student strength and the available infrastructure while striving to maintain the prescribed staff-student ratio for the institutions. The sanctioned and actual number of students enrolled also fluctuates depending on the development of infrastructure, the number of programmes offered which is not static, movement of students across institutions, etc. The Central Government constantly monitors the development of these new institutions and the funds are released from time to time based on the requirement of the institutions.

\*\_\*\_\*\_\*