## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION

### RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO: 1463

(TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 9<sup>th</sup> December 2024)

# INCLUSION OF KANNUR AIRPORT IN SAARC/ ASEAN OPEN SKY POLICY

#### 1463. SHRI SANDOSH KUMAR P

Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION be pleased to state:-

- (a) whether Government can include Kannur International airport under the purview of SAARC/ ASEAN Open Sky Policy;
- (b) if so, the tentative date for initiating the process;
- (c) if not, the reasons therefor;
- (d) the criteria for including international airports under the purview of SAARC/ASEAN Open Sky Policy; and
- (e) the list of airports already included under this policy?

#### **ANSWER**

#### MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION

(Shri Murlidhar Mohol)

(a) to (e) 18 tourist destinations in India namely Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Aurangabad, Bhubaneswar, Calicut, Cochin, Gaya, Goa, Guwahati, Jaipur, Khajuraho, Lucknow, Patna, Port Blair, Thiruvananthapuram, Tiruchirappalli, Varanasi and Vishakhapatnam are available as Points of Call (PoC) for SAARC/ASEAN countries (except Pakistan and Afghanistan) under SAARC/ASEAN Open Sky Policy. These 18 points were decided as a one-time policy decision. No proposal regarding the inclusion of Kannur under the purview of the SAARC/ASEAN Open Sky policy is under consideration in this Ministry.

\*\*\*\*