GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1410 ANSWERED ON 06.12.2024

ONGOING AND PROPOSED RAILWAY PROJECTS IN ODISHA

1410 SHRI MUZIBULLA KHAN:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of ongoing and proposed railway projects in Odisha including their current status, budget allocations and expected timelines for completion;
- (b) whether Government is aware of delays in certain railway infrastructure projects in Odisha and, if so, the reasons for such delays;
- (c) the steps being taken to address demands for improved rail connectivity, passenger amenities and freight services in the State; and
- (d) whether any special initiatives are being planned to enhance rail connectivity in tribal and economically backward regions of Odisha?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, INFORMATION & BROADCASTING AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

(SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) to (d): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1410 BY SHRI MUZIBULLA KHAN ANSWERED IN RAJYA SABHA ON 06.12.2024 REGARDING ONGOING AND PROPOSED RAILWAY PROJECTS IN ODISHA.

(a) to (d): Railway projects are surveyed/sanctioned/executed Zonal Railway wise and not Statewise as the Railways' projects may span across State boundaries. Sanctioning of Railway projects is a continuous and dynamic process of Indian Railway. Railway projects are sanctioned on the basis of remunerativeness, traffic projections, last mile connectivity, missing links and alternate routes, augmentation of congested/saturated lines, demands raised by State Governments, Central Ministries, Members of Parliament, other public representatives, Railway's own operational requirement, socio-economic considerations etc. depending upon throwforward of ongoing projects and overall availability of funds.

Railway infrastructure projects falling fully/partly in the State of Odisha are covered under East Coast Railway, South Eastern Railway and South East Central Railway zones of Indian Railways. Zonal Railway wise details of Railway projects including cost, expenditure and outlay are made available in public domain on Indian Railway's website.

As on 01.04.2024, 40 Projects (13 New Lines, 1 Gauge Conversion and 26 Doubling) of total length 4,017 Km, costing Rs. 54,434 crore, falling fully/partly in Odisha are in planning/approval/construction stage, out of which, 1,100 Km length has been commissioned and an expenditure of Rs. 22,833 crore has been incurred upto March, 2024. The summary is as under:-

Category	No of	Total	Length	Total Exp
	Projects	Length	Commissioned	upto Mar'24
		(in Km)	till Mar'24	(Rs. in Crore)
			(in Km)	
New Lines	13	1422	183	5090
Gauge Conversion	01	159	90	184
Doubling/Multitracking	26	2436	827	17559
Total	40	4,017	1,100	22,833

The details of outlay for infrastructure projects falling fully/partly in the State of Odisha is as under:-

Period	Outlay	
2009-14	Rs. 838 Cr./Year	
2024-25	Rs. 10,586 Cr. (More than 12 times)	

The details of commissioning / laying of new track falling fully/partly in the State of Odisha during 2009-14 and 2023-24 is as under :-

Period	New Track Commissioned	Average Commissioning of new tracks
2009-14	267 Km	53.4 Km
2023-24	243 Km	243 Km (More than 4 times)

Further, to improve rail connectivity in Odisha including the tribal and economically backward regions, following projects falling fully/partly in the State of Odisha have been sanctioned in the current financial year i.e. 2024-25:-

SN	Name of the Project	Cost
		(Rs. in Crore)
1	Gunupur-Therubali New Line (73.62 Km)	1,166
2	Malkangiri-Pandurangapuram via Bhadrachalam station New Line (173.61 Km)	3,592
3	Badampahar-Kendujhargarh New Line (82.06 Km)	1,876
4	Junagarh-Nabarangpur New Line (116.21 Km)	2,865
5	Buramara-Chakulia New Line (59.96 Km)	1,459
6	Bangriposi-Gorumahisani New Line (85.60 Km)	2,269
7	Bargarh Road – Nawapara Road New Line (138.32 Km)	2,622
8	Sardega – Bhalumunda New Double Line (37.24 Km)	1,282

During the last three years (i.e. 2021-2022, 2022-2023, 2023-24 and current Financial Year i.e. 2024-25), total 90 Nos. of Surveys (46 New Line and 44 Doubling) falling fully/partly in the State of Odisha having a total length of 5,598 Km have been sanctioned and survey work has been taken up.

The completion of any Railway project depends on various factors like quick land acquisition by State Government, forest clearance by officials of forest department, deposition of cost share by State Government in cost sharing projects, priority of projects, shifting of infringing utilities, statutory clearances from various authorities, geological and topographical conditions of area, law and order situation in the area of project(s) site, number of working months in a year for particular project site due to climatic conditions etc.

Ministry of Railways has launched Amrit Bharat Station scheme. This scheme envisages development of stations on a continuous basis with a long-term approach.

It involves preparation of Master Plans and their implementation in phases to improve the amenities at the stations like improvement of station access, circulating areas, waiting halls, toilets, lift/escalators as necessary, cleanliness, free Wi-Fi, kiosks for local products through schemes like 'One Station One Product', better passenger information systems, Executive Lounges, nominated spaces for business meetings, landscaping, etc. keeping in view the necessity at each station.

The scheme also envisages improvement of building, integrating the station with both sides of the city, multimodal integration, amenities for Divyangians, sustainable and environment friendly solutions, provision of ballastless tracks, etc., as per necessity, phasing and feasibility and creation of city centre at the station in the long term.

So far, 1337 stations including 59 stations in the State of Odisha have been identified for development under the scheme. The names of stations identified for development under Amrit Bharat Station Scheme in the State of Odisha are as following:

State	No. of	Name of Stations		
	Stations			
Odisha	59	Angul, Badampahar, Balangir, Balasore, Balugaon, Barbil, Bargarh Road,		
		Baripada, Barpali, Belpahar, Betnoti, Bhadrak, Bhawanipatna,		
		Bhubaneswar, Bimlagarh, Brahmapur, Brajrajnagar, Chatrapur, Cuttack,		
		Damanjodi, Dhenkanal, Gunupur, Harishanker Road, Himgir, Hirakud,		
		Jajpur-Keonjhar Road, Jaleswar, Jaroli, Jeypore, Jharsuguda, Jharsuguda		
		Road, Kantabanji, Kendujhargarh, Kesinga, Khariar Road, Khurda Road,		
		Koraput, Lingaraj Temple Road, Mancheswar, Meramandali, Muniguda,		
		New Bhubaneswar, Panposh, Paradeep, Parlakhemundi, Puri,		
		Raghunathpur, Rairakhol, Rairangpur, Rajgangpur, Rayagada, Rourkela,		
		Sakhi Gopal, Sambalpur, Sambalpur City, Soro, Talcher, Talcher Road,		
		Titlagarh Jn.		
