GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO-124 ANSWERED ON – 25/11/2024

IMPLEMENTATION OF NEVA PROJECT

124. Shri Ramji Lal Suman Shri Javed Ali Khan

Will the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of Central and State Legislative bodies of the country, which have implemented the 'NeVA' (National e-Vidhan Application) project under Digital India initiative aiming paperless and digital legislative process in the country;
- (b) the details of the Central and State Legislative bodies of the country, which have not implemented the NeVA project, Legislative body-wise;
- (c) the reasons cited by the legislative bodies for non- implementation by these legislative bodies, legislative body-wise; and
- (d) the reasons for failure of Government to implement uniform digital projects for all Central and State Legislative bodies?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS (Dr. L. MURUGAN)

- (a) There are two Mission Mode Projects of Government of India **e-Sansad** and **e-Vidhan** for the digitalisation of both the Houses of Parliament and State Legislative bodies respectively. The Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs has signed MoU with the following 25 State legislative bodies, out of the 37 State Legislative bodies of the country to implement e-Vidhan, rechristened as National e-Vidhan Application (NeVA) —
- 1. Punjab Assembly 2. Odisha Assembly 3. Bihar Assembly 4. Bihar Council 5. Meghalaya Assembly 6. Mizoram Assembly 7. Manipur Assembly 8. Gujarat Assembly 9. Nagaland Assembly 10. Puducherry Assembly 11. Tripura Assembly 12. Tamil Nadu Assembly 13. Sikkim Assembly 14. Haryana Assembly 15. Uttar Pradesh Assembly 16. Uttar Pradesh Council 17. Jharkhand Assembly 18. Jammu & Kashmir Assembly 19. Chhattisgarh Assembly 20. Himachal Pradesh Assembly 21. Arunachal Pradesh Assembly 22. Uttarakhand Assembly 23. Assam Assembly 24. Rajasthan Assembly 25. Madhya Pradesh Assembly.

The following 14 State Legislative bodies are conducting the proceedings of their House in paperless manner through NeVA platform, namely –

- 1. Punjab Assembly 2. Haryana Assembly 3. Uttar Pradesh Assembly 4. Uttar Pradesh Council 5. Bihar Council 6. Gujarat Assembly 7. Meghalaya Assembly 8. Mizoram Assembly 9. Tripura Assembly 10. Sikkim Assembly 11. Nagaland Assembly 12. Tamil Nadu Assembly 13. Manipur Assembly 14. Assam Assembly.
- (b) The following State Legislative bodies are not live on the NeVA Platform -
- 1. Odisha Assembly 2. Jharkhand Assembly 3. Puducherry Assembly 4. Himachal Pradesh Assembly 5. Uttarakhand Assembly 6. Bihar Assembly 7. Jammu & Kashmir Assembly 8. Arunachal Pradesh Assembly 9. Chhattisgarh Assembly 10. Rajasthan Assembly 11. Madhya Pradesh Assembly 12. Goa Assembly 13. Andhra Pradesh Assembly 14. Andhra Pradesh Council 15. Delhi Assembly 16. Kerala Assembly 17. West Bengal Assembly 18. Karnataka Assembly 19. Karnataka Council 20. Telangana Assembly 21. Telangana Council 22. Maharashtra Assembly 23. Maharashtra Council
- (c) & (d) The NeVA (National e-Vidhan Application) is a unified digital initiative developed as a generic software to meet the diverse needs of all State Legislative Bodies. However, given that each State Legislative Body operates under its own set of rules and procedures for conducting legislative business, and enjoys complete autonomy in terms of its functioning as such implementation of NeVA lies within the complete domain of State Legislatures.
