GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO- 1190 ANSWERED ON- 05/12/2024

PASSPORT SEVA KENDRAS IN KERALA

1190. SMT. P. T. USHA

Will the Minister of EXTERNAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government intends to establish more Passport Seva Kendras in Kerala, especially in the Malabar region, to enhance services;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether Government further intends to establish passport service centres in institutes other than post offices for increasing delivery services; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS (SHRI KIRTI VARDHAN SINGH)

(a & b) Ministry in association with Department of Posts (DoP) had decided in January 2017 to open Seva Kendras at the Head Post Offices (HPO)/ Post Offices (PO) in the country called Post Office Passport Seva Kendra (POPSK) in each Lok Sabha Constituency (LSC) where there is no PSK or a POPSK. As on date, 93 PSKs and 442 POPSKs have been set up in the country and are operational to cater to the needs of passport seekers.

All Lok Sabha Constituencies of Kerala have a PSK (list attached at Annexure-I) / POPSK (list attached at Annexure-II), except Ponnani and Wayanad, where space has been provided by Department of Posts and work is in progress. Once POPSKs at Ponnani and Wayanad are made operational, Kerala state will have 22 PSKs/ POPSKs.

(c & d) Once all Lok Sabha Constituencies are covered, a detailed analysis of the requirements for PSK/POPSK could be done to determine the necessity of more than one POPSK in any Lok Sabha Constituency.

Annexure-I

Name of the State	Number of PSKs	Name of the PSK
Name of the State Kerala	Number of PSKs 13 (PSKs)	(a) Thiruvananthapuram (b) Thiruvananthapuram (Rural) (c) Kollam (d) Cochin (e) Ernakulum Rural (f) Alapuzha (g) Kottayam (h) Malappuram (i) Thrissur (j) Kozhikode-I
		(k) Kozhikode-II (l) Kannur-I (m) Kannur-II

Annexure-II

Name of the State	Number of POPSKs	Name of the POPSK
Kerala	7 (PSKs)	1. Chengannur
		2. Kattappana
		3. Nenmara
		4. Palakkad
		5. Kasargod
		6. Attingal
		7. Pathanamthitta
