GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.787

ANSWERED ON- 29/07/2024

PROMOTING USAGE OF CNG/PNG IN MADHYA PRADESH

787 # DR. SUMER SINGH SOLANKI:

Will the Minister of PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government has decided to promote CNG/PNG to control the alarming situation of pollution in metropolitan cities of Madhya Pradesh, if so, the districts in the State where this facility is proposed; and
- (b) whether Government plans to open a CNG/PNG facility centre in Barwani district of Madhya Pradesh, if so, the detail thereof, if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS (SHRI SURESH GOPI)

(a) & (b): Providing Piped Natural Gas (PNG) connections and establishment of Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) station are part of the development of City Gas Distribution (CGD) Network and the same is being carried out by the entities authorised by Petroleum and Natural Gas Regulatory Board (PNGRB). In order to increase usage of clean fuel, thereby reducing pollution across the country, PNGRB has authorized 307 Geographical Areas (GAs) covering almost 100% of total geographical area of the country spread over around 733 districts in 34 states/UTs.25 GAs including Barwani district & other metropolitan areas (including 5 GAs spread over neighbouringMaharashtra, Uttar Pradesh Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan) covering entire state of Madhya Pradesh have been authorized by PNGRB.

List of GAs with status of PNG/CNG facilities in the state of Madhya Pradesh is at Annexure.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) & (b) OF RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 787 TO BE ANSWERED ON 29.07.2024 REGARDING PROMOTING USAGE OF CNG/PNG IN MADHYA PRADESH.

Details of Piped Natural Gas (PNG) Connections and Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) Stations in the state of Madhya Pradesh.

SI No.	Geographical Area	State/Union Territory	PNGConnections(as on 31.05.2024)	CNG Stations(as on 31.05.2024)
1.	Dewas	Madhya Pradesh	21869	6
2.	Dhar District	Madhya Pradesh	1499	4
3.	Bhopal &Rajgarh Districts	Madhya Pradesh	36184	37
4.	Guna District	Madhya Pradesh	1259	5
5.	Rewa District	Madhya Pradesh	2237	6
6.	Satna&Shandol Districts	Madhya Pradesh	6575	21
7.	Ashoknagar District	Madhya Pradesh	1356	3
8.	Gwalior (EAAA) District and Sheopur District	Madhya Pradesh	0	3
9.	Morena District	Madhya Pradesh	2819	6
10.	Raisen, Shajapur and Sehore Districts	Madhya Pradesh	4848	27
11.	Shivpuri District	Madhya Pradesh	3128	6
12.	Sidhi and Singrauli Districts	Madhya Pradesh	4262	8
13.	Ujjain (EAAA) District, Dewas (EAAA) District and Indore (EAAA) District	Madhya Pradesh	1519	24
14.	Anuppur, Bilaspur and Korba Districts	Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgrah	0	9
15.	Jhabua, Banswara, Ratlam and Dungarpur Districts	Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan	1011	31
16.	Jhansi (EAAA) District, Bhind, Jalaun, Lalitpur and Datia Districts	Madhya Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh	3	20
17.	Agar Malwa, Neemuch, Mandsaur and Jhalawar districts	Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan	0	4
18.	Burhanpur, Khandwa, Khargone and Harda districts	Madhya Pradesh	0	13
19.	Tikamgarh, Niwari, Chattarpur and Panna districts	Madhya Pradesh	0	7
20.	Betul, Chhindwara, Seoni and Balaghat districts	Madhya Pradesh	131	6
21.	Damoh, Jabalpur, Katni, Mandla, Umaria and Dindori districts	Madhya Pradesh	0	5
22.	Hoshangabad, Narsinghpur, Sagar and Vidisha districts	Madhya Pradesh	0	6
23.	Alirajpur, Nandurbar and Barwani districts	Maharashtra and Madhya Pradesh	0	16
24.	Indore (including Ujjain City)	Madhya Pradesh	102152	81
25.	Gwalior	Madhya Pradesh	53532	31
	Total	244384	385	

Source: PNGRB