## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

### RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 544

TO BE ANSWERED ON: 26.07.2024

#### PRADHAN MANTRI GRAMIN DIGITAL SAKSHARTA ABHIYAN

#### **544. SHRI RAJEEV SHUKLA:**

Will the Minister of ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGYbe pleased to state:

- (a) the details of features of the Pradhan Mantri Gramin Digital Saksharta Abhiyan (PMGDISHA) that aims to provide digital literacy in rural area by covering 6 crore rural households;
- (b) the progress made in this respect, State/UT-wise;
- (c) whether Government is taking measures to provide digital skills to the ordinary citizens of the country;
- (d) if so, the details thereof; and
- (e) the proposed measures to be taken therefor?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF STATE FOR ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI JITIN PRASADA)

(a) to (e): The Government of India implemented the scheme "Pradhan Mantri Gramin Digital Saksharta Abhiyan (PMGDISHA)" for digital literacy in rural India. Under the said scheme, around 7.35 crore candidates were enrolled and 6.39 crore were trained, out of which 4.78 crore candidates were certified. The States/UTs-wise details is given at**Annexure-I**. The main features of the PMGDISHA scheme are as under:

- The scheme was implemented only in rural areas i.e. Gram Panchayat/Village to cover 6 crore rural households (one person per household).
- The beneficiaries were provided with 20 hours of training consisting of 5 modules namely (i) Introduction to digital devices, (ii) Operating digital devices, (iii) Introduction to the internet, (iv) Communications using the internet, (v) Application of internet (includes citizen centric services) and use of financial tools for undertaking digital cashless transactions.
- The training content was made available in 22 scheduled languages and English. This content was made available in both online and offline mode. In addition, keeping in view the thrust of the government on promoting cashless transactions through mobile phones, the content on digital wallets, mobile banking, Unified Payments Interface (UPI), Unstructured Supplementary Service Data (USSD), Aadhaar Enabled Payment System (AEPS), and PoS were included.
- After training of the candidate, a third-partyassessment of the trained candidates was
  carried out by recognized certifying agencies namely National Institute of Electronics
  and Information Technology (NIELIT), National Institute of Open Schooling (NIOS),
  Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (CDAC), Haryana Knowledge
  Corporation Limited (HKCL) and ICT Academy of Tamil Nadu (ICTACT). Digitally
  Signed Certificates were issued for all successful candidates and directly uploaded in
  their Digi-Locker accounts.

Further, National Institute of Electronics & Information Technology (NIELIT), an autonomous scientific society under the Ministry of Electronics & Information Technology (MeitY) is imparting various skill development programmes in Information Technology & Electronics domain through its 52 centres along with more than 720 accredited institutes and more than 9,500 facilitation centres.

\*\*\*\*\*

## States/UTs-wise achievements under the PMGDISHA Scheme

Sl.	State Name	Registered	Trained	Certified
No.		Candidates	Candidates	Candidates
1.	Andaman and Nicobar	5,564	2,931	1,813
	Islands			
2.	Andhra Pradesh	23,01,731	19,17,452	13,90,142
3.	Arunachal Pradesh	14,949	11,615	6,615
4.	Assam	27,21,585	23,60,195	18,75,452
5.	Bihar	82,40,606	74,12,740	54,62,848
6.	Chhattisgarh	24,86,455	21,37,064	16,06,777
7	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	20,522	18,029	13,938
	and Daman & Diu			
8.	Goa	58,569	53,784	40,005
9.	Gujarat	30,31,310	26,83,286	19,84,049
10.	Haryana	18,57,815	15,77,109	11,90,337
11.	Himachal Pradesh	6,61,922	5,32,976	3,98,166
12.	Jammu and Kashmir	8,70,451	7,06,991	5,17,436
13.	Jharkhand	27,52,731	22,86,356	16,87,611
14.	Karnataka	29,64,726	24,40,957	18,33,519
15.	Kerala	1,77,165	1,18,132	85,352
16.	Ladakh	24,785	22,122	17,377
17.	Lakshadweep	142	35	-
18.	Madhya Pradesh	56,92,467	50,69,449	37,58,313
19.	Maharashtra	61,23,970	53,23,817	38,53,643
20.	Manipur	28,397	18,286	11,989
21.	Meghalaya	1,52,783	1,06,063	71,301
22.	Mizoram	30,317	23,125	14,357
23.	Nagaland	11,990	8,968	6,332
24.	Odisha	36,16,441	30,86,143	23,46,795
25.	Puducherry	22,079	15,801	10,883
26.	Punjab	17,46,448	15,14,820	11,65,692
27.	Rajasthan	45,06,184	39,70,690	29,27,166
28.	Sikkim	27,035	23,122	16,480
29.	Tamil Nadu	17,04,537	14,07,880	10,55,235
30.	Telangana	14,56,226	12,10,448	8,64,871
31.	Tripura	3,25,000	2,64,186	2,15,688
32.	Uttar Pradesh	1,63,14,369	1,45,48,273	1,10,25,560
33.	Uttarakhand	7,85,978	6,73,306	5,04,730
34.	West Bengal	28,36,714	23,95,565	18,75,716
	Total	7,35,71,965	6,39,41,718	4,78,36,188

<sup>\*</sup>Chandigarh and Delhi are urban agglomerations, hence not covered under the scheme.

\*\*\*\*\*