GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COAL

RAJYA SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.52 TO BE ANSWERED ON 22.7.2024

Revenue generated from coal mining operations

52. Shri Neeraj Dangi:

Will the Minister of *COAL* be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of land acquired by Government for projects under Coal India Limited (CIL) and the details of the said projects in the country, State-wise;
- (b) the details of mining activities carried out under these projects so far and the revenue generated from these projects; and
- (c) whether Government is considering commencement of any new projects in other sectors apart from these projects, if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF COAL AND MINES (SHRI G. KISHAN REDDY)

(a): The details of land acquired for projects under Coal India Limited (CIL), including that acquired by the Government are given below State-wise:-

States	Land for CIL (In Ha.)		
Assam	1483.94		
Meghalaya	38.97		
West Bengal	20835.939		
Jharkhand	95772.687		
Odisha	31910.764		
Uttar Pradesh	5830.00		
Madhya Pradesh	40185.994		
Chhattisgarh	40363.914		
Maharashtra	34519.50		
Total (In ha.)	270941.708		

(b): Subsidiary-wise raw coal production and revenue from operations from mining activities of CIL for 2023-24:

Sl. No.	Subsidiaries	Production (Million Te.)	Amount (₹ in Crore)
1.	BCCL	41.10	14,113.31
2.	CCL	86.05	16,565.72
3.	ECL	47.56	14,559.14
4.	MCL	206.10	27,182.32
5.	NCL	136.15	24,632.89
6.	NEC	0.20	115.97
7.	SECL	187.38	27,306.37
8.	WCL	69.11	17,491.99
Grand Total		773.65	141,967.71

(c) CIL has planned to develop additional 21 greenfield coal projects. The details of these projects are as follow:

Sl. No.	Subsidiary	Name of Mine	Capacity	State
1	ECL	Chuperbhita Simlong OC	4.0	Jharkhand
2	ECL	Bansra UG	0.54	West Bengal
3	CCL	Sanghmitra OC	20	Jharkhand
4	CCL	Chandragupta OC	15	Jharkhand
5	CCL	Piparwar Ph-I UG	0.87	Jharkhand
6	CCL	Kotre Basantpur Pachmo OC	5.0	Jharkhand
7	CCL	Parej East UG	0.51	Jharkhand
8	CCL	Angwali	0.40	Jharkhand
9	CCL	Swang Pipradih	2.00	Jharkhand
10	WCL	Gandhigram UG	1.26	Madhya Pradesh
11	WCL	Gadegaon OC	3.0	Maharashtra
12	WCL	Tawa III UG	0.48	Madhya Pradesh
13	WCL	Ballarpur NW OC	1.5	Maharashtra
14	WCL	Waghoda UG	1.02	Maharashtra
15	SECL	Jhiria West OC	1.5	Chhattisgarh

16	SECL	Ambika OC	1.0	Chhattisgarh
17	SECL	Durgapur OC	6.0	Chhattisgarh
18	SECL	Madannagar OC	12.0	Chhattisgarh
19	SECL	Pelma OC	15.0	Chhattisgarh
20	SECL	Porda Chimtapani OC	10.0	Chhattisgarh
21	SECL	Basundhara (West) Extn.	7.0	Odisha
22	MCL	Subhadra OCP	25.0	Odisha
23	MCL	Balabhadra OCP	10.0	Odisha
