GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COOPERATION

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED OUESTION NO. 1763

ANSWERED ON 07/08/2024

Milk and honey producing cooperative societies

1763 # SHRI NARHARI AMIN:

Will the Minister of COOPERATION be pleased to state:

- (a) whether any specific scheme is being run by Government to promote milk and honey producing co-operative societies;
- (b) if so, the benefits being provided by Government to the milk and honey producing co-operative societies;
- (c) the total percentage increase in the production of milk and honey by these co-operative societies in the last five years; and
- (d) the number of milk and honey producing co-operative societies established in Gujarat, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF COOPERATION (SHRI AMIT SHAH)

(a) to (b): The Government of India is implementing the following major schemes to promote dairy and honey producing cooperative societies:

For Dairy Cooperative Societies:

i. Animal Husbandry Infrastructure Development Fund (AHIDF):

This fund aims to modernize and create new processing plants and manufacturing facilities for value-added products, ensuring dairy cooperatives remain competitive for the sustained benefit of farmers. The scheme is implemented by the National Dairy Development Board (NDDB) and the National Cooperative Dairy Corporation (NCDC) through End Borrowers (EBs).

ii. Supporting Dairy Cooperatives and Farmer Producer Organisations engaged in dairy activities – Interest subvention for working capital loans:

This scheme provides an interest subvention of 2% per annum on working capital loans to Producer Organisations (POs). An additional 2% per annum interest subvention is payable for prompt and timely repayment at the end of the loan repayment/interest servicing period.

iii. National Programme for Dairy Development (NPDD):

Component 'A' focuses on creating and strengthening infrastructure for quality milk testing equipment and primary chilling facilities. Component 'B' (Dairying through Cooperatives - DTC) aims to create and strengthen infrastructure for the production of quality milk, procurement, processing, and marketing of milk and milk products by dairy cooperatives and milk producer companies across the country.

For Honey Producing Cooperative Societies:

i. Formation and Promotion of 10,000 Farmer Producer Organisations (FPOs):

National Beekeeping and Honey Mission (NBHM) recommended 100 honey Farmers Producers Organizations (FPOs) as per potential in these clusters or hub. Under the Central Sector Scheme of formation and promotion of 10,000 FPOs, 100 honey FPOs have been registered as per Annexure-I.

ii. National Beekeeping and Honey Mission (NBHM):

This scheme aims at the overall promotion and development of scientific beekeeping in mission mode to achieve the goal of "Sweet Revolution" by emphasizing capacity building and trainings, infrastructure creation, and value addition. NDDB leverages the dairy cooperative network to promote beekeeping activities and supports setting up post-harvest infrastructure facilities such as testing labs and processing plants by dairy cooperatives.

(c): As per MoAFW, India produced about 1,42,000 MT (2nd Advance Estimate) of Honey during 2022-23. As per IMARC (International Market Analysis research and consulting group) report, India's honey market grew at CAGR of 11.6% during 2017-2022. Milk procurement by the dairy cooperative societies in the country has increased by about 6% annually during the last five years (2019-20 to 2023-24).

(d): The number of organised Dairy Cooperative Societies in Gujarat during the last five years is as under:

Dairy Cooperative societies: -

Number of organised dairy cooperative societies in Gujarat						
	2018-19	2019-20	2020-21	2021-22	2022-23	
Organised DCS (nos.)	19,985	19,538	19,763	19,954	20,220	
Source: Gujarat Milk Unions						

Honey producing FPOs: -

Total number of 4 honey producing FPOs established in Gujarat one each in the Districts of Navsari, Banaskantha, Mehsana & Valsad.

State-wise list of 100 FPOs				
S.N.	Name of State	No. of FPOs		
1	Andhra Pradesh	3		
2	Arunachal Pradesh	2		
3	Assam	4		
4	Bihar	5		
5	Chhattisgarh	3		
7	Gujarat	4		
8	Haryana	2		
9	HP	3		
10	J&K	4		
11	Jharkhand	3		
12	Karnataka	4		
13	Kerala	2		
14	Madhya Pr.	5		
15	Maharashtra	5		
16	Manipur	2		
17	Meghalaya	3		
18	Mizoram	2		
19	Nagaland	2		
20	Odisha	4		
21	Punjab	3		
22	Rajasthan	5		
23	Sikkim	1		
24	Tamil Nadu	3		
25	Telangana	2		
26	Tripura	1		
27	UP	16		
28	Uttarakhand	3		
29	West Bengal	4		
	Total	100		