GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EARTH SCIENCES RAJYA SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1154 ANSWERED ON 01/08/2024

INSTALLATION OF DOPPLER WEATHER RADAR NETWORK

1154. # SHRI ADITYA PRASAD:

Will the Minister of **EARTH SCIENCES** be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of installation of Doppler Weather Radar networks across the country, particularly in Jharkhand;
- (b) the current status of implementation of the project along with the details of sites selected for the purpose, State-wise; and
- (c) the details of the new steps taken by Government to install X-band Doppler Radars at appropriate sites in different States in order to provide accurate weather information to farmers across the country, particularly in Jharkhand?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR MINISTRY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY AND EARTH SCIENCES (DR. JITENDRA SINGH)

- Currently, 39 Doppler Weather Radars (DWRs) are installed at various locations across the country. Though there are no DWR in the state of Jharkand, there are 3 DWRs, namely at Patna, Kolkata, and Paradip, which cover northern, eastern, and southern parts of Jharkhand. The details of the DWRs network are given in the Annexure-1. In addition, procurement of a C-Band DWR is in process, to be installed at Ranchi in the State of Jharkhand.
- (b) In total, 12 C-Band DWRs are to be installed at Raipur (Chhattisgarh), Sambalpur (Odisha), Bengaluru (Karnataka), Jorhat (Assam), Chhatrapati Sambhaji Nagar (Maharashtra), Ahmedabad (Gujarat), Ranchi (Jharkhand), Port Blair (Andaman & Nicobar Islands), Malda (West Bengal), Mangalore (Karnataka), Balasore (Odisha), Lakshadweep (Lakshadweep).
- (c) Procurements are in process for 16 X-Band DWRs to be installed at Guwahati, Tezpur, Silchar, Imphal, Aizawl, Dimapur, Dhubri, Namsai, West Arunachal Pradesh, Central Arunachal Pradesh, and urban regions of Pune, Varanasi, Kolkata, Kozhikode, Bhubaneswar and Purnea. The locations of these DWRs have been distributed in the best possible way to monitor weather conditions across multiple States in the Indian region.

Annexure-1

Doppler Weather Radars (DWRs) network in the Indian region:

S. No.	States	Name of Station	DWR type
1.	West Bengal	Kolkata	S-Band
2.	- Andhra Pradesh	Machilipatnam	S-Band
3.		Visakhapatnam	S-Band
4.		Hyderabad	S-Band
5.		Sriharikota (ISRO),	S-Band
6.	Delhi	Palam	S-Band
7.		HQ New Delhi	C-Band (Polarimetric)
8.		Aya Nagar	X-Band
9.	- Maharashtra	Nagpur	S-Band
10.		Mumbai	S-Band
11.		Mumbai Veravali	C-Band
12.		Solapur	C-Band
13.	Tripura	Agartala	S-Band
14.	Bihar	Patna	S-Band
15.	Uttar Pradesh	Lucknow	S-Band
16.	Punjab	Patiala	S-Band
17.	Assam	Mohanbari	S-Band
18.	Madhya Pradesh	Bhopal	S-Band
19.	Odisha	Paradip	S-Band
20.		Gopalpur	S-Band
21.	Tamil Nadu	Karaikal	S-Band
22.		Chennai NIOT	X-Band
23.		Chennai	S-Band
24.	Goa	Goa	S-Band
25.	Gujarat	Bhuj	S-Band
26.	Rajasthan	Jaipur	C-Band (Polarimetric)
27.	Jammu & Kashmir	Srinagar	X-Band
28.		Jammu	X-Band
29.		Banihal Top	X-Band
30.	Kerala	Kochi	S-Band
31.		VSSC (ISRO)	C-Band
		Thiruvananthpuram	
32.	Uttarakhand	Mukteshwar	X-Band
33.		Surkanda Devi	X-Band
34.		Lansdowne	X- Band
35.	Ladakh	Leh	Transportable X-Band
36.	Himachal Pradesh	Kufri	X-Band
37.		Jot	X-Band
38.		Murari Devi	X-Band
39.	Meghalaya	Cherapunji (ISRO)	S-Band
