GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

RAJYA SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 175 ANSWERED ON 07.08.2024

CUET Exams

175. MS. SUSHMITA DEV:

Will the Minister of EDUCATION be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Ministry is aware about the irregularities in the conduct of CUET UG exam including last minute postponement of exam, issues in answer keys and delay in result declaration;
- (b) if so, the measures being taken to reform the admission process to Higher Education institutions; and
- (c) whether the Ministry plans to decentralise the process of conducting such examinations by giving it to States?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF EDUCATION (SHRI DHARMENDRA PRADHAN)

(a) to (c): A Statement is laid on the table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (A) TO (C) IN RESPECT OF RAJYA SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 175 FOR REPLY ON 07.08.2024 REGARDING "CUET EXAMS" ASKED BY MS. SUSHMITA DEV, HON'BLE MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT

(a) to (c):

- CUET(UG)-2024 Examination has been successfully conducted between 15th May and 29th May, 2024. CUET (UG)-2024 was scheduled for over 13.48 lakh candidates, with the number of registered subject tests being over 57.71 lakhs. The examination was conducted in hybrid-mode for the first time to facilitate greater accessibility to candidates. The final Result of CUET(UG) 2024 examination has already been declared by NTA on 28th July, 2024 and counselling process has started.
- In order to suggest effective measures for transparent, smooth and fair conduct of examinations by NTA, the Ministry of Education has constituted a High-Level Committee of Experts on 22.06.2024 for making recommendations on Reforms in mechanism of examination process, Improvement in Data Security protocols and Structure and functioning of National Testing Agency. The Committee comprises of the following experts:

1	Dr. K. Radhakrishnan, Former Chairman, ISRO and Chairman BoG, IIT Kanpur.	Chairman
2	Dr. Randeep Guleria, Former Director, AIIMS Delhi.	Member
3	Prof. B J Rao, Vice Chancellor, Central University of Hyderabad.	Member
4	Prof. Ramamurthy K, Professor Emeritus, Department of Civil Engineering, IIT Madras.	Member
5	Shri Pankaj Bansal, Co-Founder, People Strong and Board Member- Karmayogi Bharat.	Member
6	Prof. Aditya Mittal, Dean Student Affairs, IIT Delhi	Member
7	Shri Govind Jaiswal , Joint Secretary, Ministry of Education, Govt. of India	Member Secretary

• The Committee has also co-opted two more members i.e., Prof. Amey Karkare, Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, IIT Kanpur and Dr. Debapriya Roy, Assistant Professor, IIT Kanpur. The Hon'ble Supreme Court in WPC 335/2024 and connected matters, Judgement dated 2nd August, 2024 has expanded the remit of the aforesaid Committee and assigned additional tasks in the fields of Examination Security and Administration, Data Security and Technological Enhancements, Policy and Stakeholder engagement and Support and Training. The Hon'ble Court has also said that in view of the expanded remit of the committee, Report of the Committee shall be submitted to Ministry of Education by 30th September, 2024.