GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURAL RESEARCH & EDUCATION

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO-831 TO BE ANSWERED ON- 09/02/2024

ROLE OF SEED RESEARCH CENTRES IN AGRICULTURE

831. SHRI RAJENDRA GEHLOT:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether seed research centres play a pivotal role in providing quality produce to farmers and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) the details of the total number of seed research centres established so far in the country, State-wise ; and
- (c) whether Government proposes to set up new seed research centres, if so, the details thereof, State-wise including the State of Rajasthan and if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF AGRICULTURE & FARMERS WELFARE (SHRI ARJUN MUNDA)

(a) & (b): Seed Research Centres established under Institutes of Indian Council of Agricultural Research; State and Central Agricultural Universities under All India Coordinated Research Project (AICRP) on Seed (Crops) are coordinated by ICAR-Indian Institute of Seed Science, Mau (Uttar Pradesh), play an important role in providing quality produce to farmers by dissemination of new agricultural technologies including seeds of climate resilient high yielding varieties of different crops. These centres are involved in the maintenance of genetic purity of varieties through nucleus seed production, production of breeder and quality seed; and carrying out seed technology research to address the contemporary issues in seed realm at national and regional levels. Total 65 seed research/ breeder and quality seed production centres are in operation across the country, the details are given at Annexure – I.

In addition, National Seed Research and Training Centre (NSRTC), Varanasi (UP), Department of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, also works for ensuring seed quality regulation through testing of seed samples and organizing national trainings, workshops, seminars etc. on various seed related activities for the officers/ officials of the seed industry across the country.

(c): At present no new Seed Research Centre is proposed as the current centres are able to meet the requirement of seed research and breeder seed production of different field crop varieties.

Sr.	State	Centre
No.	State	
1	Uttar Pradesh	ICAR-Indian Institute of Seed Science, Mau ^{\$} (Coordinating Institute) Acharya Narendra Dev University of Agriculture and Technology, Faizabad ^{#\$} ; Chandra Shekar Azad University of Agriculture and Technology, Kanpur ^{#\$} ; Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel University of Agriculture and Technology, Meerut ^{\$} ; Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi ^{\$} ; ICAR-Indian Grassland and Fodder Research Institute, Jhansi ^{\$} ; ICAR-Indian Institute Sugarcane Research, Lucknow ^{\$} ; ICAR- Indian Institute of Pulses Research, Kanpur ^{\$}
2	Assam	Assam Agricultural University, Jorhat ^{#\$}
3	Andhra Pradesh	Acharya N.G. Ranga Agricultural University, Guntur ^{\$}
4	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	ICAR-Central Island Agricultural Research Institute, Port Blair ^{\$}
5	Bihar	Bihar Agricultural University, Sabour ^{\$} ; Dr. Rajendra Prasad Central Agricultural University, Pusa ^{#\$}
6	Chhattisgarh	Indira Gandhi Krishi Visvavidhylaya, Raipur ^{\$}
7	Delhi	ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi ^{#\$}
8	Goa	ICAR-Central Coastal Agricultural Research Institute, Goa ^{\$}
9	Gujarat	Anand Agricultural University, Anand ^{#\$} ; Sardarkrishinagar Dantiwada Agricultural University, SK Nagar ^{\$} ; Navsari Agricultural University, Navsari ^{\$} ; Jungarh Agricultural University, Junagadh ^{#\$} ; ICAR- Directorate of Groundnut Research, Junagadh ^{\$}
10	Haryana	CCS Haryana Agricultural University, Hisar ^{#\$} ; ICAR-Indian Institute of Wheat and Barley Research, Karnal ^{\$}
11	Himachal Pradesh	CSK Himachal Pradesh Krishi Viswavidhyalaya, Palampur ^{#\$}
12	Jammu & Kashmir	Shere-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Science and Technology, Srinagar ^{#\$} ; Shere-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Science and Technology, Jammu ^{\$}
13	Jharkhand	Birsa Agricultural University, Ranchi ^{\$}
14	Karnataka	University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore ^{#\$} ; University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad ^{#\$} ; University of Agricultural Sciences, Raichur ^{\$} ; University of Agricultural and Horticultural Sciences, Shimogga ^{\$}
15	Kerala	Kerala Agricultural University, Trissur ^{\$}
16	Madhya Pradesh	Jawahar Lal Nehru Krishi ViswaVidhyalaya, Jabalpur ^{#\$} ; Rajmata Vijayaraje Scindia Krishi Viswa Vidhyalaya, Gwalior ^{\$} ; ICAR-India Institute of Soybean Research, Indore ^{\$}
17	Maharashtra	Vasantrao Naik Marathwada Krishi Vidyapeeth ,Parbhani ^{#\$} ; Mahatama Phule Krishi Vidyapeeth, Rahuri ^{#\$} ; Punabrao Deshmukh Krishi Vidyapeeth, Akola ^{#\$} ; <u>Dr. Balasaheb Sawant Konkan Krishi Vidyapeeth</u> , Dapoli ^{\$} ; <u>Vasantdada Sugar Institute (VSI)</u> , Pune ^{\$} ; ICAR-Central Institute of Cotton Research, Nagpur ^{\$}

Seed Research/ Production Centres under AICRP on Seed (Crops)

18	Manipur	Central Agricultural University,, Imphal ^{\$}
19	Meghalaya	ICAR Research Complex for NEH, Barapani ^{\$}
20	Odisha	Odisha University of Agriculture and Technology, Bhubaneswar ^{#\$} ;
		ICAR-National Rice Research Institue, Cuttack ^{\$}
21	Punjab	Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana ^{#\$} ; ICAR-Indian Institute of
		Maize Research, Ludhiana ^{\$}
22	Puducherry	Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru College of Agriculture & Research Institute,
		Karaikal ^{#\$}
23	Rajasthan	Agricultural University Kota ^{\$} ; Swami Keshwanand Rajasthan
		Agricultural University, Bikaner ^{\$} ; Shree Karan Narendra
		Agricultural University, Jobner [#] ; Maharana Pratap University of
		Agriculture and Technology, Udaipur ^{\$} ; ICAR-Central Arid Zone
		Research Institute, Jodhpur ^{#\$} ; ICAR-Directorate of Rapeseed and
		Mustard Research, Bharatpur ^{\$}
24	Telangana	Professor Jayashankar Telangana State Agricultural University,
		Hyderabad ^{#\$} ; ICAR-Indian Institute of Rice Research, Hyderabad ^{\$} ;
		ICAR-Indian Institute of Millets Research, Hyderabad ^{\$} ; ICAR-Indian
		Institute of Oilseeds Research, Hyderabad ^{\$}
25	Tamil Nadu	Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore ^{#\$} ; ICAR-Sugarcane
		Breeding Institute, Coimbatore ^{\$}
26	Uttarakhand	GB Pant University of Agriculture and Technology, Pantnagar ^{#\$} ;
		ICAR- Vivekanand Parvatiya Krishi Anusandhan Sansthan, Almora ^{\$}
27	West Bengal	Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidhyalaya, Nadia ^{\$} ; Uttar Banga Krishi
		Viswavidhyalaya, Pundibari ^{\$} ; ICAR-Central Research Institute for
		Jute and Allied Fibres, Barrackpore ^{\$}

\$ Breeder/Quality Seed Production (QSP); # Seed Technology Research (STR)