# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EARTH SCIENCES RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED OUESTION NO. 668

### ANSWERED ON 08/02/2024

Installation of Doppler Weather Radar (DWR) at Ayanagar, Delhi

#### 668. Smt. Darshana Singh:

Will the Minister of **Earth Sciences** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government/India Meteorological Department (IMD) has installed a Doppler Weather Radar (DWR) system at Ayanagar in Delhi for the rain and thunderstorms forecasting in addition to the existing two DWRs located at Lodhi Road and Palam;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the total cost incurred in manufacturing and installation of the said radar system in the NCR;
- (d) the manner in which this new radar installed at Ayanagar is different from two already working radars; and
- (e) the total number of operational DWRs in the country at present?

#### **ANSWER**

# THE MINISTER OF EARTH SCIENCES (SHRI KIREN RIJIJU)

- (a)-(b) Yes Sir. India Meteorological Department (IMD) had installed a X-Band Doppler Weather Radar (DWR) system at Ayanagar in Delhi and its operational since 2021.
- (c) The cost incurred for the procurement and installation of DWR at Ayanagar is about Rs.4.62 crores.
- (d) X-Band DWR is installed at Ayanagar, whereas C-Band and S-Band DWRs are installed at Lodhi Road and Palam.
- (e) Currently, there are 39 Doppler Weather Radars (DWRs) installed across the country. The details are provided in Annexure-1.

## Annexure-1

#### DWRs network over India with location names and name of States

S. No.	States	Name of Station	DWR type
1.	West Bengal	Kolkata	S-Band
2.	Andhra Pradesh	Machilipatnam	S-Band
3.		Visakhapatnam	S-Band
4.		Hyderabad	S-Band
5.		Sriharikota (ISRO),	S-Band
6.	Delhi	Palam	S-Band
7.		HQ New Delhi	C-Band (Polarimetric)
8.		Aya Nagar	X-Band
9.	Maharashtra	Nagpur	S-Band
10.		Mumbai	S-Band
11.		Mumbai Veravali	C-Band
12.		Solapur	C-Band
13.	Tripura	Agartala	S-Band
14.	Bihar	Patna	S-Band
15.	Uttar Pradesh	Lucknow	S-Band
16.	Punjab	Patiala	S-Band
17.	Assam	Mohanbari	S-Band
18.	Madhya Pradesh	Bhopal	S-Band
19.	Odisha	Paradip	S-Band
20.		Gopalpur	S-Band
21.	Tamil Nadu	Karaikal	S-Band
22.		Chennai NIOT	X-Band
23.		Chennai	S-Band
24.	Goa	Goa	S-Band
25.	Gujarat	Bhuj	S-Band
26.	Rajasthan	Jaipur	C-Band (Polarimetric)
27.		Srinagar	X-Band
28.	Jammu & Kashmir	Jammu	X-Band
29.		Banihal Top	X-Band
30.		Kochi	S-Band
31.	Kerala	VSSC (ISRO)	C-Band
		Thiruvananthapuram	
32.	Uttarakhand	Mukteshwar	X-Band
33.		Surkanda Devi	X-Band
34.		Lansdowne	X- Band
35.	Ladakh	Leh	Transportable X-Band
36.		Kufri	X-Band
37.	Himachal Pradesh	Jot	X-Band
38.		Murari Devi	X-Band
39.	Meghalaya	Cherrapunji (ISRO)	S-Band

\*\*\*\*\*